Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFranšais

PDF
CPA Activities: The Canadian SceneCPA Activities: The Canadian Scene


Eighth Atlantic Provinces Parliamentary Conference

The annual parliamentary conference of the Atlantic province does not bring together large numbers of legislators but the very fact that attendance is limited usually lends to a free-flowing exchange of ideas.

This year the conference, held in Halifax, was hosted by the Speaker of the Nova Scotia Legislature, Arthur Donahoe. The Secretary General of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association, David Tonkin, spoke to the delegates on "The Commonwealth Parliamentary Association at age 75 What of its Future?"

Other subjects on the agenda included a discussion of the role of the provinces in free trade negotiations and accountability of cabinet ministers and MLA's.

Canadian Regional Council Meeting

The Executive of the Canadian Region of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association held its annual meeting in June 1986. Among other things it decided that the 1987 Conference of the Association will take place in Saskatchewan, the next Seminar in Prince Edward Island and the next Speakers' Conference in Winnipeg.

The Council approved grants for two Special projects. The first, a seminar on free trade to be held in Washington in the autumn of 1986, will be organized by the Centre for Legislative Exchange. The second project is a conference on the Parliamentary Tradition in Canada. It will bring together parliamentarians, professors and legislative staff from across Canada to discuss the future of parliamentary government in this country.

The annual conference of the Canadian Region of CPA was held in Toronto from July 26 to August 2, 1986. Every province and territories sent delegates and there were also observers from legislatures in the United Kingdom, the United States, the Commonwealth of Australia, South Australia, Barbados, Bermuda, Grenada, as well as the Secretary General of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association.

The Conference was opened by the Lieutenant Governor of Ontario Lincoln Alexander and the keynote speech was delivered by David MacDonald, former Member of Parliament and Co-ordinator of African Famine Relief.

One of the subjects on the agenda was: Is Canada's Water for Sale? The speakers were Frank Quinn of Environment Canada, Thornas Kierans, Kenneth Hare and Karl Morin-Strom, MPP (Ontario). Canadian Forest policy was discussed by a panel consisting of Joe Bird of the Ontario Forest Industries Association, Professor Les Reed, and two legislators, Floyd Laughren (Ontario) and Neil J. LeBlanc (Nova Scotia).

Richard Brown a former Research Director of the Ontario Task Force on Employment and Technology, Glenna Carr, Assistant Deputy Minister of Skills Development, Jean Joly, MNA (Quebec) and Thomas Hickey, MLA (Newfoundland) were on a panel looking at Canada's workforce in transition.

A panel on the subject of the family farm and its future consisted of Elmer Allan of Unifarm, Harry Pelissero of the Ontario Federation of Agriculture, Walter Johnson, MLA (Saskatchewan) and Speaker Charles Gallagher, MLA (New Brunswick).

The question of acid rain was discussed by Professor Harold Harvey, Ron Taborek of Ontario Hydro, Norman Rubin of Energy Probe and Brian Charlton, MPP (Ontario).

Finally the subject of relations between Provinces and States was examined by Gerald Regan former MP, Roy Romanow, Maximilien Polak, MNA (Quebec) and Irving J. Stolberg, President elect of the National Conference on State Legislatures (NCSL).

A number of social activities including dinners hosted by the Government of Ontario and by Speaker Hugh Edighoffer were much appreciated by all delegates and observers.

The 17th African Regional Seminar of CPA was held in Malawi in June. For the first time a Canadian observer was in attendance. The Chairman of the federal branch, Lloyd Crouse, is shown here with Speaker Mati of Kenya and a group of Kenyan parliamentarians.

New Speaker in Alberta

Born in Saskatchewan and raised in Medicine Hat, Alberta David Carter graduated in 1958 from the University of Manitoba with a Bachelor of Arts. He has a Licentiate in Theology, and a Doctor of Divinity from St John's College, Winnipeg as well as a Bachelor of Sacred Theology from the Anglican Theological College, University of British Columbia.

From 1965 to 1969 Dr. Carter was Chaplain for the University of Calgary, the Southern Alberta Institute of Technology, and Mount Royal College, where he had a special interest in the development of student housing. His appointments include Rector, Cathedral Church of the Redeemer; Dean, Anglican Diocese of Calgary; and Senator, University of Calgary. He has written seven books on Western Canadian history and poetry.

Dr. Carter was employed by NOVA, an Alberta Corporation from 1982-1986 and is active in many community activities in Calgary. First elected to the Alberta Legislature in 1979 and re-elected in 1982 and 1986, he became Speaker of the Assembly in June 1986.

New Lieutenant Governor in Newfoundland

James McGrath long-time Conservative Member of Parliament for St. John's was named Lieutenant Governor of Newfoundland by the Prime Minister on July 18.

First elected to the House of Commons in 1957 and re-elected at every subsequent election except 1963, Mr. McGrath was Minister of Fisheries in the Joe Clark government in 1979. In 1984 he was named Chairman of a Special Committee on Reform of the House of Commons. Its reports led to numerous changes in the rules and procedures of the House. He was also chairman of the Standing Committee on Human Rights and an active participant in the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association throughout his career.

Legislative Librarian in New Brunswick

The new Legislative Librarian for New Brunswick is Eric L. Swanik. A graduate of the universities of Carleton, McGill and Leeds, he was formerly in charge of the government section of the library.

Roderick Lewis Retires

On July 2, on the occasion of his 75th birthday, Roderick Lewis, announced his retirement as Clerk of the House. He joined the Assembly as Assistant Clerk in 1946, and succeeded his father, Major Alex C. Lewis, as Clerk in 1955. In tribute, the Legislature adopted a motion "to express its appreciation to Roderick Lewis for his dedication and years of service as Clerk of the Ontario Legislative Assembly and [ordered] that, notwithstanding the customs of Parliament, the Clerk be invited to address the House." With the mace on the Table indicating the House was still in session, Mr. Lewis expressed his appreciation for this honour and for the friendships he had formed with members on all sides of the House. He concluded by thanking all Members "for their kindness, their patience and their words."


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 9 no 3
1986






Last Updated: 2020-03-03

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Activités de l’APC : la scène canadienneActivités de l’APC : la scène canadienne


Huitième Conférence parlementaire des provinces de l’atlantique

La Conférence parlementaire annuelle des provinces de l'Atlantique n'attire pas un très grand nombre de législateurs, mais le nombre limité de participants favorise les échanges.

Cette année, la conférence a eu lieu à Halifax; son hôte fut le président de l'Assemblée législative de la Nouvelle Écosse, Arthur Donahoe. Le secrétaire général de l'Association parlementaire du Commonwealth, David Tonkin, a prononcé devant les délégués un discours sur le 75e anniversaire de l'Association parlementaire du Commonwealth et son avenir.

Les autres sujets à l'ordre du jour étaient une discussion du rôle des provinces dans les négociations sur le libre échange et l'obligation pour les ministres et les députés d'assemblée législative provinciale de rendre compte de leurs activités.

Vingt sixième conférence à Toronto

La conférence annuelle de la région canadienne de l'APC a eu lieu a Toronto du 26 juillet au 2 août 1986. Toutes les provinces et territoires y avaient délégué des représentants, et il y avait également des observateurs des  parlements du Royaume-Uni, des États Unis, de l'Australie, de l'Australie-Méridionale, de la Barbade, des Bermudes et de Grenade, ainsi que M. David Tonkin, secrétaire général de l'Association des parlementaires du Commonwealth.

La conférence a été inaugurée par le lieutenant-gouverneur de l'Ontario, l'hon. Lincoln Alexander et le discours thème a été prononcé par M. David MacDonald, ancien député et coordonnateur des Secours d'urgence famine en Afrique.

L'un des sujets à l'ordre du jour était l'eau du Canada est-elle à vendre? MM. Frank Quinn d'Environnement Canada, Thomas Kierens, Kenneth Hare et Karl Morin Strom, député de l'Ontario, ont abordé ce thème. Un groupe d'experts, formé de Joe Bird de l'Association de l'industrie forestière de l'Ontario, du professeur Les Reed, et de deux députés Floyd Laughren (Ontario) et Neil J. Leblanc (Nouvelle-Écosse) a ensuite discuté de la question de la politique forestière canadienne.

Richard Brown, ancien directeur à la recherche du Groupe de travail sur l'emploi et la technologie, Glenna Carr, sous ministre adjointe au ministère de la Formation professionnelle, Jean Joly, député du Québec et Thomas Hickey, député de Terre Neuve, ont abordé la question des mutations dans la population active canadienne.

Un groupe d'experts, formé de Elmer Allan de Unifarm, Harry Pelissero de la Fédération agricole de l'Ontario, Walter Johnson, député de la Saskatchewan et du président Charles Gallagher, de l'Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick, a discuté du statut et de l'avenir de l'entreprise agricole familiale.

Par ailleurs, le professeur Harold Harvey, MM. Ron Taborek d'Hydro Ontario, Norman Rubin de Sondage d'énergie et Brian Charlton, député de l'Ontario, ont discuté de la question des pluies acides.

Enfin, le thème des relations entre les provinces et les États a été confié à M. Gerald Regan, ancien député, M. Roy Romanow, Maximilien Polak, député du Québec et Irving J. Stolberg, président élu de la National Conference on State Legislatures (NCSL).

Les activités sociales et, en particulier, les déjeuners parraines par le gouvernement de l'Ontario et le président de l'Assemblée législative, M. Hugh Edighoffer, ont été très appréciés des délégués et des observateurs. L'an prochain, la conférence annuelle se tiendra en Saskatchewan.

Nouveau président en Alberta

Né en Saskatchewan et élevé a Medicine Hat (Alberta), David Carter a obtenu son baccalauréat ès arts de l'Université du Manitoba en 1958. Il est licencié en théologie et docteur en études divines du St. John's College de Winnipeg, ainsi que bachelier en théologie sacrée du Collège théologique anglican de l'Université de la Colombie-Britannique.

De 1965 à 1969, David Carter a été aumônier à l'Université de Calgary, au Southern Alberta Institute of Technology et au Mount Royal College,  où il s'est particulièrement intéressé au dossier des logements pour étudiants. Il a successivement été nommé recteur de l'Église cathédrale du Rédempteur, doyen du diocèse anglican de Calgary et sénateur à l'Université de Calgary. Il est l'auteur de sept livres sur l'histoire et la poésie de l'Ouest canadien.

David Carter a travaillé pour NOVA, une société albertaine, de 1982 à 1986 et est très engagé au niveau communautaire à Calgary. Élu pour la première fois en 1979 il  fut réélu en 1982 et 1986. Il a été élu président de l'Assemblée en juin 1986.

Nouveau lieutenant gouverneur à Terre Neuve

James McGrath, député conservateur de Saint Jean pendant de nombreuses années, a été nommé lieutenant gouverneur de Terre Neuve par le premier ministre le 18 juillet.

Élu pour la première fois à la Chambre des communes en 1957 et toujours réélu, sauf en 1963, M. McGrath fut ministre des Pêches en 1979. En 1984, il fut président du Comité spécial sur la réforme de la Chambre des communes. Le rapport qu'il présenta fut suivi de plusieurs modifications aux règles et procédures de la Chambre. Il fut aussi président du Comité permanent des droits de la personne et membre actif de l'Association parlementaire du Commonwealth tout au long de sa carrière.

Bibliothécaire Parlementaire au Nouveau-Brunswick

Le nouveau bibliothécaire parlementaire du Nouveau-Brunswick est Erik L. Swanik. Diplômé des Universités Carleton, McGill et Leeds, il était auparavant chargé de la section gouvernementale de la Bibliothèque.

Roderick Lewis prend sa retraite

Le 2 juillet, à l'occasion de son 75e anniversaire, M. Roderick Lewis a annoncé qu'il quittait son poste de greffier de la Chambre. Il était entré à l'Assemblée législative à titre de greffier adjoint en 1946 et, en 1955, il avait succédé à son père, le major Alex C. Lewis, en qualité de greffier. L'Assemblée législative lui a rendu hommage en adoptant une motion par laquelle elle exprimait ses remerciements à Roderick Lewis pour son dévouement et ses années de service en sa qualité de greffier de l'Assemblée législative et par laquelle elle demandait que, nonobstant les coutumes du Parlement, le greffier soit invité à s'adresser à la Chambre. Alors que la masse était restée sur le bureau pour montrer que la Chambre siégeait encore, M. Lewis a remercié l'Assemblée de cet honneur et de l'amitié que lui ont manifestée les députés des deux côté, de la Chambre. Il a conclu en remerciant tous les députés pour leur bonté, leur patience et leurs bons mots.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 9 no 3
1986






Dernière mise à jour : 2018-07-31