Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFranšais

PDF
Parliamentary Book ShelfParliamentary Book Shelf
Jonathan Lemco

Provincial Politics In Canada, by Rand Dyck, Scarborough, PrenticeHall, 1986, 626 p.

Rand Dyck's Provincial Politics in Canada is a systematic and fairly comprehensive introduction to the history and politics of each province in Canada. Dyck outlines the different political cultures, histories, and structures in a most lucid and readable manner. He pays particular attention to each constituent unit's evolution, political ideology, party and electoral systems, voting trends, pressure groups, and relationship with the federal government. Dyck's primary sources are 1981 and 1984 poll data and Statistics Canada reports.

However, the strength of the author's approach is also a weakness. Dyck follows the pattern of other scholars, most notably Martin Robin in his Canadian Provincial Politics, who focuses almost exclusively on a province-by-province account rather than attempting the more intellectually demanding comparative approach. Except in his all too brief conclusion, Dyck makes no attempt to contrast the provincial policy formation process. There is no concerted effort to demonstrate the relative economic and political strengths and weaknesses present in each province. There is no effort to explore how federal and provincial political cultures are reconciled and translated into policy preferences. Admittedly, this is a difficult task. In my view, however, it is a particularly rewarding one. The reader is directed to the work of Roger Gibbons, most notably in his Regionalism: Territorial Politics in Canada and the United States, or to Mildred Schwartz' Politics and Territory: The Sociology of Regional Persistence in Canada, for two examples of this comparative approach.

One other important omission is the limited attention paid to the role of provincial bureaucrats. Provincial public servants have become integral to the policy process in recent years, but their presence is almost totally ignored in this book.

I do not want to be too hard on Provincial Politics in Canada. The author's goals are quite modest and as a broad introduction to the subject, the book is perfectly adequate for the undergraduate and educated layman. The bibliography is quite complete and is a useful guide for those who would like to know more about a particular province.

Jonathan Lemco, School of Advanced International Studies, The Johns Hopkins University, Washington D.C.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 9 no 3
1986






Last Updated: 2020-03-03

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish
Sur les rayonsSur les rayons
Jonathan Lemco

Provincial Politics In Canada, Rand Dyck, Scarborough, Prentice-Hall, 1986, 626 pages.

L'ouvrage de Rand Dyck, Provincial Politics in Canada est une introduction systématique et assez complète à l'histoire et aux politiques de chacune des provinces canadiennes. M. Dyck recense les diverses cultures, histoires et structures politiques avec beaucoup de lucidité et les présente de façon agréable. Il porte une attention particulière à l'évolution de chacune des unités constituantes, à l'idéologie politique, aux partis et aux régimes électoraux, aux tendances en matière de vote, aux groupes de pressions et aux rapports avec le gouvernement fédéral. Les principales sources de ce travail sont les données des sondages effectués en 1981 et en 1984 et des rapports de Statistique Canada.

Mais ce qui fait la force de l'auteur fait également sa faiblesse. M. Dyck adopte le modèle utilisé par d'autres chercheurs, notamment par Martin Robin, dans son ouvrage Canadian Provincial Politics, qui se contente pour ainsi dire de regarder chacune des provinces l'une après l'autre au lieu de chercher à les comparer, exercice intellectuel beaucoup plus exigeant.

Or, M. Dyck ne tente aucun rapprochement entre les divers processus de formation de politique dans chacune des provinces sauf dans sa trop brève conclusion. On ne perçoit aucun effort réfléchi de sa part pour montrer les forces et faiblesses économiques et politiques relatives de chaque province. Il ne tente pas non plus d'explorer la façon dont les orientations politiques fédérales et provinciales se concilient et débouchent sur des préférences en matière de politiques. Ce n'est certes pas là une tâche facile mais, à mon avis, elle en vaut particulièrement la peine. Le lecteur est renvoyé aux travaux de Roger Gibbons, et notamment à son ouvrage : Regionalism: Territorial Politics in Canada and the United States, ou à ceux de Mildred Schwartz, et à son livre Politics and Territory: The Sociology of Regional Persistence in Canada, comme exemples d'études comparatives.

Une autre importante omission de cet ouvrage : le peu d'attention accordée au rôle des bureaucrates provinciaux. Depuis quelques années, ces fonctionnaires font partie intégrante du processus d'élaboration des politiques, mais leur présence est pratiquement passée sous silence ici.

Je ne veux pas être trop sévère à l'endroit de Provincial Politics in Canada. Compte tenu des objectifs assez modestes fixés par l'auteur et comme introduction générale sur la question, ce livre est tout à fait adapté à des étudiants de premier cycle et au lecteur averti. La bibliographie est assez complète et peut orienter les lectures des personnes intéressées à en savoir plus long sur telle ou telle province.

Jonathan Lemco
Professeur adjoint, Science politique et études canadiennes
The Johns Hopkins University
Washington, D.C.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 9 no 3
1986






Dernière mise à jour : 2018-07-31