Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFranšais

PDF
Parliamentary Book ShelfParliamentary Book Shelf
Michael Ferrabee

My Dear Legs ... Letters to a Young Social Democrat, Alex MacDonald, New Star Books, Vancouver, British Columbia, 187 pages.

Alex MacDonald Q.C. has spent more than 25 years at the centre of the CCF and later NDP politics in British Columbia. He has acted as Attorney General, Minister of Industry, as well as assuming the responsibility for the Department of Energy. He is now the longest serving member of the British Columbia Legislative Assembly.

My Dear Legs ... is a series of letters written by Mr. MacDonald beginning in 1983 to his young squash partner and friend Hugh Legg, examining the current status of the Social Democratic movement in Canada. MacDonald's witty prose and irreverent style takes the reader on a critical examination of the New Democratic Party and digs to the roots of many of the problems the social democratic movement faces, not only in British Columbia, but in Canada as a whole. Since at one time Mr. MacDonald was secretary to CCF Leader M.J. Coldwell in the late 1940's, and served a brief stint as a Member of the House of Commons the year prior to the national Diefenbaker sweep of 1958.

In his letters MacDonald deals directly with the many issues and problems facing the NDP in the 1980's. On the question of Medicare and fee-for-service doctors payed for by the state, MacDonald proposes a novel approach of local clinics staffed by doctors who are paid to keep people well instead of simply providing services. Throughout the letters, he refers to the need for an Incomes Policy that will affect the party's relationship with both business and labour, however, an explicit plan or method of implementation is never proposed. On issues such as Energy and Human Rights, MacDonald draws on his experience as a Minister to suggest modest changes in the current party position.

On the issue of "electioneering' Mr. MacDonald seems to have his greatest trouble with the party, reflecting uncertainty among others within the party about the basic objectives of the NDP. He is concerned that the NDP is 'beginning to quack, waddle and gabble like any other party for whom winning elections is the goal". He reluctantly accepts, by the end of his letters, that "there are two strains in the CCF-NDP movement, one idealistic; the other pragmatic, and we need some of each."

MacDonald also comments frequently on the need for policy alternatives proposed by his party. After numerous examples he concludes "the lesson for us, Legs, is to have enough policies in our wardrobe so as not to go naked when some are stolen". Yet aside from the few suggestions above, MacDonald does not have many tangible proposals to fill this gap.

As well as a serious political examination of the NDP, My Dear Legs ... is a thoroughly readable, witty and sometimes irreverent series of political stories and foibles. In describing the end of a session in the British Columbia Assembly, MacDonald remarks; "historically Canadian Legislatures wind up their sessions when the bores begin to bore the bores ... I prefer girls.'

MacDonald also cannot resist an opportunity to shoot at a classic NDP target when describing his recovery in hospital in a later letter: "When I came to from the anesthetic, there were nurses and flowers all around me I thought I must have died and gone to the Senate."

Alex MacDonald's letters are genuinely readable and amusing. MacDonald himself emerges as likeable and witty. Most people, I would guess, would leap at the chance to hear more or share a good cigar and a nice bottle of wine with the author at the Union Club in Victoria. The book itself in the years to come, regardless of the fortunes of the NDP, may prove to be the best insight into the present state of the social democratic movement in Canada straightforward and honest, but with some serious fundamental questions unresolved.

Michael Ferrabee, Ottawa


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 9 no 1
1986






Last Updated: 2014-08-05

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish
Sur les rayonsSur les rayons
Michael Ferrabee

My Dear Legs ... Letters to a Young Social Democrat, Alex MacDonald, Vancouver (Colombie-Britannique), New Star Books, 187 pages.

Alex MacDonald, c.r., a consacré plus de 25 années de sa vie à la politique britanno-colombienne. Il a été au cœur de la Fédération du commonwealth coopératif (CCF), devenue par la suite le Nouveau Parti démocratique (NPD). Successivement procureur général, ministre de l’Industrie et responsable du ministère de l’Énergie, il a les plus longs états de service comme député à l’Assemblée législative de la Colombie-Britannique.

My Dear Legs ... est une série de lettres que M. MacDonald a commencé à écrire en 1983 à son jeune ami et partenaire de squash, Hugh Legg. Il y examine la situation du mouvement social-démocrate au Canada. Sa prose colorée et son style irrévérencieux amènent le lecteur à jeter un œil critique sur le Nouveau Parti démocratique et le plongent aux racines de nombreux problèmes auxquels le mouvement social-démocrate est confronté, non seulement en Colombie-Britannique, mais dans l’ensemble du Canada. À la fin des années 1940, M. MacDonald a été secrétaire du chef de la CCF, M. J. Coldwell puis, pendant une brève période, député à la Chambre des communes, l’année qui a précédé le balayage national de Diefenbaker en 1958.

Dans ses lettres, MacDonald traite sans détour des nombreux problèmes qu’a connus le NPD dans les années 1980. En ce qui concerne le régime d’assurance-maladie et la rémunération des médecins à l’acte par l’État, MacDonald propose une nouvelle approche, soit des cliniques locales où les médecins seraient payés pour garder les gens en santé, au lieu de simplement dispenser des services. Tout au long de ses lettres, il parle de la nécessité d’avoir une politique de revenus qui influerait sur les rapports du parti avec les entreprises et les travailleurs, mais il ne propose jamais de plan ou de mode de mise en œuvre précis. Quant à l’énergie et aux droits de la personne, MacDonald se fonde sur son expérience à titre de ministre pour proposer de modestes changements à la position du parti.

Sur la question des « manœuvres électorales », M. MacDonald semble être en profond désaccord avec le parti, exprimant les doutes éprouvés par d’autres au sujet des objectifs fondamentaux du NPD. Il s’inquiète du fait que le NPD commence à couiner, à se dandiner et à jacasser comme n’importe quel autre parti dont l’objectif ultime est de remporter les élections. Il admet à contrecoeur, à la fin de ses lettres, que le mouvement social-démocrate est formé de deux courants, l’un idéaliste et l’autre pragmatique, et que le parti a besoin d’un peu des deux.

MacDonald parle aussi fréquemment de la nécessité de proposer des politiques de rechange. Après avoir donné un certain nombre d’exemples, il conclut en disant que la leçon que le parti doit retenir, c’est d’avoir suffisamment de politiques en réserve pour ne pas se sentir démuni si on lui en vole quelques-unes. Mis à part les quelques suggestions ci-dessus, MacDonald propose peu de solutions tangibles pour combler cette lacune.

En plus d’être un examen politique sérieux du NPD, My Dear Legs ... est une série d’historiettes et d’anecdotes politiques de lecture agréable, colorées et parfois irrévérencieuses. Lorsqu’il décrit la fin d’une session à l’Assemblée de la Colombie-Britannique, MacDonald avoue qu’historiquement, les législatures canadiennes ajournent leurs sessions lorsque les raseurs commencent à ennuyer les raseurs ... et qu’il préfère les filles.

MacDonald ne peut pas non plus s’empêcher de s’en prendre à une cible favorite du NPD dans une lettre plus récente. Il y décrit sa convalescence à l’hôpital et dit qu’à son réveil de l’anesthésie, à la vue des infirmières et des fleurs partout autour de lui, il s’est cru mort et rendu au Sénat.

Les lettres d’Alex MacDonald sont très amusantes à lire. L’auteur se montre sous un jour agréable et spirituel. Je serais porté à croire que la plupart des gens aimeraient en entendre davantage ou saisiraient l’occasion de déguster un bon cigare et une bonne bouteille de vin en sa compagnie au Union Club de Victoria. Au cours des prochaines années, et peu importe la destinée du NPD, ce livre pourrait se révéler une excellente perception de la situation actuelle du mouvement social-démocrate au Canada : franc et honnête, mais qui ne propose aucune solution à certains problèmes fondamentaux graves.

Michael Ferrabee, Ottawa


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 9 no 1
1986






Dernière mise à jour : 2018-07-31