Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFranšais

PDF
CPA Activities: The Canadian SceneCPA Activities: The Canadian Scene


Presiding Officers hold Second Conference

The second annual conference of Canadian Presiding Officers was held in Vancouver on March 30 and 31, 1985.

The host of the conference, Speaker Walter Davidson of British Columbia, welcomed fellow Speakers and Deputy Speakers from seven provinces, both territories and the House of Commons. Speakers from Newfoundland and Ontario were unable to attend due to elections in their provinces while the presiding officers of the Senate and the province of Alberta were also absent due to previous commitments.

The delegates and some 15 table officers were privileged to hear a former Speaker of the House of Commons James Jerome, reflect on some personal experiences based on his six years in the chair (1974-1980). He noted how important it was for Speakers to obtain from the Prime Minister an undertaking that reasonable constituent requests not be prejudiced by acceptance of the speakership.

Mr. Jerome discussed the difficulties in having a Speaker seek election as an independent candidate. In most cases Speakers who became independents could expect the disintegration of their party's local organization.

The British practice of choosing new Speakers in mid-Parliament from among experienced members was discussed, but Mr. Jerome doubted this would work in Canada for several reasons. For one thing retiring British Speakers are appointed virtually automatically to the House of Lords. No equivalent guarantee exists in Canada. In any event their customs are ill suited to a legislature where young members accept the speakership but may still be interested in a career outside of Parliament after they leave the chair.

Arguments for and against creating a special constituency of Parliament Hill for the Speaker were considered. While Mr. Jerome thought there was much to recommend in such an idea, he observed that in the long run the independence of a Speaker derives more from his pr her performance in office than from the way he is chosen. Several Speakers including John Bosley of the House of Commons and Richard Guay of Quebec spoke of the need to educate the public about the role of the Speaker and the institution of Parliament. Speaker James Walding of Manitoba distributed the results of a constituency survey he mailed to some 8,000 households in his riding. While he acknowledged it was not a scientific" survey, the results indicated that two thirds of the 310 people who replied felt it was very important for the Speaker to be impartial in the chair. In response to another question constituents felt their chances of obtaining a serious hearing for their viewers in a Speaker's riding were better than if they were represented by either a government or opposition private member but less than if represented by a cabinet minister. A very large majority of respondents felt the bell-ringing incidents in Ottawa and Manitoba revealed a fundamental weakness in the parliamentary system.

Complete results of the survey may be obtained by writing the Speaker's Office, Legislative Assembly, Winnipeg, Manitoba, R3C OV8.

Before adjourning on Sunday the Speakers compared notes on a few issues of mutual interest such as the political composition of the Boards of Internal Economy in various jurisdictions, postal charges for mailing provincial Hansards and policies regarding spousal travel. Although the time and site of the next conference have not been established Speaker Bosley suggested a comparative research paper would be useful as the basis for discussion at the next meeting.

New Speaker in Newfoundland

Patrick McNicholas, the Progressive Conservative member for St. John's Centre was elected Speaker of the Newfoundland House of Assembly on April 25. Mr. McNicholas replaces James Russell who was named Minister of Consumer Affairs and Communications.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 8 no 2
1985






Last Updated: 2019-07-15

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish

PDF
Activités de l’APC : la scène canadienneActivités de l’APC : la scène canadienne


Deuxième conférence annuelle des présidents

La deuxième conférence annuelle des présidents des assemblées législatives canadiennes s'est tenue a Vancouver les 30 et 31 mars 1985,

L'hôte de la conférence, M. Walter Davidson, président de l'Assemblée législative de la Colombie Britannique, a d'abord souhaité la bienvenue à ses collègues présents, les présidents et vice présidents des assemblées législatives de sept provinces, des deux territoires et de la Chambre des communes. Les présidents de l'Assemblée législative de Terre Neuve et de l'Ontario n'ont pu assister à la conférence en raison de la tenue d'élections dans leur province, tandis que ceux du Sénat et de l'Assemblée législative de l'Alberta se sont également excusés en raison d'engagements préalables.

Les délégués et quelque quinze greffiers parlementaires présents ont eu le privilège d'entendre James Jerome leur faire part de quelques réflexions sur ses six années à la présidence de la Chambre des communes, soit de 1974 à 1980. Il a signalé combien il était important que les présidents obtiennent des premiers ministres l'engagement que les demandes raisonnables des électeurs représentés par le président ne soient pas compromises du fait que leur député accepte la présidence de l'Assemblée.

M. Jerome a parlé des difficultés que rencontre un président qui brigue les suffrages comme candidat indépendant.  La plus souvent cette désaffiliation entraîne la désintégration de l’organisation local de son parti. 

On s’est demandé s’il ne conviendrait pas d'adopter la coutume britannique qui consiste à choisir les nouveaux présidents en plein milieu du mandat législatif parmi les députés chevronnés, mais M. Jerome doute, pour bien des raisons, que cette façon de procéder convienne au Canada. En Grande-Bretagne, a-t-il dit, les présidents démissionnaires sont presque toujours nommés à la Chambre des lords. Une telle garantie n'existe pas au Canada. En outre, cette coutume ne saurait convenir à une assemblée législative où la présidence est assurée par de jeunes députés qui n'écartent pas la possibilité d'une carrière non parlementaire une fois qu'ils auront quitté la présidence.

On a ensuite examiné les avantages et les inconvénients que présenterait la création d'une circonscription de la Colline parlementaire spécialement pour le président. Bien que M. Jerome estime que cette proposition mérite d'être étudiée, il a signalé qu'à long terme, l'indépendance du président découle davantage de sa compétence que de la façon dont il est choisi.

Plusieurs présidents, dont M. John Bosley de la Chambre des communes et M. Richard Guay du Québec, ont dit qu'il fallait informer les citoyens du rôle du président et des institutions parlementaires elles-mêmes. M. James Walding, de l'Assemblée législative du Manitoba, a fait part aux participants des résultats d'un sondage postal qu'il avait entrepris auprès de 8 000 foyers de sa circonscription. Selon ce sondage, qui ne se voulait pas «scientifique», les deux tiers des 310 répondants ont déclaré que l'impartialité du président était très importante. En réponse à une autre question, les électeurs ont dit croire qu'ils avaient de meilleures chances de faire entendre leurs points de vue dans une circonscription représentée par un président que dans une autre représentée par un simple député, qu'il soit du parti au pouvoir ou de l'opposition, mais moins que s'ils étaient représentés par un ministre. Une très grande proportion des répondants ont dit que les incidents de la sonnerie d'appel à Ottawa et au Manitoba révélaient une faiblesse fondamentale du système parlementaire.

Avant de lever la séance, le dimanche, les présidents ont échangé leurs vues sur quelques questions d'intérêt commun, telles que la répartition des partis politiques au sein des commissions de la régie interne des différentes assemblées, les frais postaux pour l'envoi des hansards provinciaux et les directives concernant les frais de déplacement des conjoints des députés. Bien que la date et le lieu de la prochaine conférence n'aient pas été fixés, le président Bosley a dit qu'il serait peut-être utile de produire un document de recherche comparative pour alimenter la discussion lors de la prochain rencontre.

Un nouveau président à Terre Neuve

M. Patrick McNicholas, député progressiste conservateur de Saint Jean Centre a été élu, le 25 avril, président de la Chambre d'Assemblée de Terre Neuve. M. McNicholas remplace M. James Russell actuellement ministre de la Consommation et des Communications.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 8 no 2
1985






Dernière mise à jour : 2018-07-31