Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFranšais

PDF
Speaker's Ruling
Gerald Amerongen

Recognition of Leader of the Opposition, Speaker Gerald Amerongen, Alberta, November 16,1984

Background: The untimely death of Mr Grant Notley left the Legislature without a leader of the Official Opposition. The New Democratic Party now had only one member and there were two independents.

The Ruling (Speaker Gerard Amerongen): There appear to be three possibilities (1) to designate the Independents as the Official Opposition, which would make the leader of the Independents the Leader of the Official Opposition; (2) to designate the hon. Member for Edmonton Norwood, (Ray Martin, NDP); (3) to designate no one as Leader of the Opposition and to arrange a sharing of salaries as permitted by section 47 of the Legislative Assembly Act. None of these would be totally wrong; neither would any of them be totally right.

As recently as March 11, 1983, it was necessary to deal with such a question in a different context. As is well known, we had at that time an opposition consisting of two equal parts. Because of that equality within the House, it was necessary to try to find outside the House a possible basis for selecting an Official Opposition.

Such a basis was found in the results of the 1982 provincial general election. These results show that New Democratic party candidates in that election received a far greater number of votes than those cast for any other non government party. Hence it seems likely to the point of certainly that a larger number of voter concerns from around the province, and thus a larger amount of work, would be directed to the NDP members rather than to the Independents.

It therefore seemed just and equitable that the additional funding and staffing provided for the Leader of the Opposition should go to the leader of the New Democratic Party, and that is what was done on the basis of the statement made to this House on March 11, 1983.

That statement also acknowledged that the election of an Official Opposition at that time rested on a very narrow basis and that a change in opposition numbers in the House could or would result in changing the designation of an Official Opposition. In this regard the following points must be recognized: (1)The present change in number in the opposition has not resulted from a resignation, retirement, or change of allegiance in this House but from the sudden death of a member (2)The number change may be temporary, depending on the result of a by-election which must be held by April 17, 1985. (3)The Legislative Assembly estimates approved by this Assembly last spring provided Official Opposition funding for the current fiscal year to March 31, 1985, on the basis of the NDP being the Official Opposition. (4)As a result of that funding, certain staffing and other arrangements are in place. (5)There is no provable reason to assume that the preponderance of opposition work resulting from certain voter concerns or inquiries will now shift from the NDP to the Independents. (6)The statement on the Official Opposition made to this House on March 11, 1983, was not intended to refer to a temporary or short-term change in numbers. The simple reason is that such a very temporary situation was not expected or even foreseen. (7)The designation of the hon. Member for Edmonton Norwood as Leader of the Opposition would mean, in effect, a leader in this House without followers in the House. When the late and respected Ernest Watkins was the only member of his party in this House, he remarked in regard to the possibility of his being designated a leader in the House that he could talk to himself, he could be beside himself, but he could not lead himself. (8)What we are concerned with here, however, is a special workload and function deriving in part from our Standing Orders. This function is quite apart from leading a group. In other words, here we are not concerned so much with leadership of a group in the House but with additional functions, staffing, and funding which should be available to someone in the opposition.

Referring now to the Legislative Assembly Act, section 47, there is authority for the Speaker to divide among two or more members the salary which would otherwise be payable to the Leader of the Opposition, if there were one. Under the circumstances, this would not solve the problem and would not give us a Leader of the Opposition as contemplated in our Standing Orders. What has occurred to this House is a disruption which should be minimized to the extent possible.

It is not for a Speaker to guess when either a general election or a by-election may be held. However, there are certain legal and practical considerations which are known to anyone who cares. Accordingly it seems safe to say that the date of the by-election will be very much closer to the end of the fiscal year than we are today. Disruption in staffing, funding. and other arrangements will likely diminish as we get closer to the end of the fiscal year.

Pending the outcome of the forthcoming by-election, and for all the foregoing reasons, I recognize the hon. Member for Edmonton Norwood as Official Leader of the Opposition for the time being.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 7 no 4
1984






Last Updated: 2018-07-31

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish
Décision d’un président
Gerald Amerongen

Reconnaissance du chef de l'opposition, Alberta, le 16 novembre 1984, M. Gerald Amerongen

Contexte : Du fait du décès subit de M. Grant Notley (voir la section Carnet), l'Assemblée législative de l'Alberta se retrouve sans chef de l'opposition. Le Nouveau Parti démocratique ne compte plus qu'un seul représentant, tandis qu'il y a deux députés indépendants.

Décision du Président Gerard Amerongen : ... Il existe, semble-t-il, trois solutions : 1) Déclarer que les députés indépendants seront l'opposition officielle et que leur leader sera le chef de l'opposition; 2) désigner le député d'Edmonton-Norwood (M. Ray Martin, NPD) comme chef de l'opposition; et 3) ne désigner personne et partager les salaires conformément à l'article 47 de la Loi sur l’Assemblée législative. Aucune de ces solutions ne serait entièrement mauvaise, mais aucune ne serait tout à fait bonne.

Le 11 mars dernier, nous avons dû trancher une question semblable dans un contexte différent. Comme on le sait, l'opposition comportait alors deux parties égales. À cause de cette égalité, il a fallu trouver à l'extérieur de la Chambre des raisons justifiant le choix de l'opposition officielle.

On trouva une telle justification dans le résultat des élections provinciales de 1982. En effet, les candidats du Nouveau Parti démocratique avaient reçu plus de voix que tout autre parti non gouvernemental. Il était donc presque certain que les députés du NPD recevraient plus de requêtes des électeurs, et donc auraient plus de travail que les députés indépendants.

Il était donc juste que les fonds et le personnel supplémentaires accordés au chef de l'opposition officielle soient attribués au Nouveau Parti démocratique, et c'est ce qui fut fait à la suite de la déclaration faite devant cette Chambre, le 11 mars 1983.

Cette déclaration signalait que le choix de l'opposition officielle reposait alors sur des motifs particuliers et qu'un changement du nombre de députés pourrait entraîner un changement de l'opposition officielle. À ce propos, il faut souligner que : 1) le changement du nombre de députés que nous connaissons à présent parmi l'opposition n'est pas dû à une démission, à un départ à la retraite ou un changement d'affiliation politique, mais au décès subit d'un député. 2) cette diminution n'est peut-être que temporaire puisqu'une élection complémentaire doit avoir lieu avant le 17 avril 1985; 3) le budget de l'Assemblée législative, approuvé par cette Chambre au printemps dernier, prévoyait un financement à l'opposition officielle pour l'année financière se terminant le 31 mars 1985, en tenant compte du fait que le NPD était l'opposition officielle;  4) du fait de cette affectation de fonds, l'opposition officielle a pris certaines mesures et engagé du personnel; 5) rien ne permet de croire que les députés indépendants auront désormais plus de demandes de la part des électeurs que le NPD;  6) la déclaration faite à cette Chambre le 11 mars 1983 ne concernait pas une diminution temporaire ou de courte durée du nombre de députés, pour la simple raison qu'une telle éventualité n'avait pas été envisagée; 7) la désignation du député d'Edmonton Norwood en tant que chef de l'opposition reviendrait à avoir dans cette Chambre un chef sans troupe. Lorsque feu Ernest Watkins devint le seul député de son parti dans cette Chambre, il fit remarquer, au moment où il était question de le nommer chef de l'opposition, qu'il pouvait se parier à lui-même, qu'il pouvait à l'occasion n'être pas tout à fait lui-même, mais qu'il lui était impossible d'être son propre chef; 8) il est question ici d'une charge de travail et d'une fonction spéciale qui découle de notre Règlement. Cette fonction ne consiste pas à mener un groupe. Autrement dit, ce n'est pas tant une question de leadership qu'une question de fonctions supplémentaires, de personnel et de financement qui doivent être attribués à quelqu'un dans l'opposition.

Selon l'article 47 de la Loi sur l'Assemblée législative, le Président peut répartir entre deux ou plusieurs députés le salaire normalement accordé au chef de l'opposition. Dans le cas présent, cette solution ne nous donnerait toujours pas un chef de l'opposition comme le veut notre Règlement. Cette Chambre a connu une certaine perturbation et ses conséquences doivent être réduites au minimum.

Un président n'a pas à deviner quand se tiendront des élections générales ou partielles. Mais, étant donné les considérations légales et pratiques que nous connaissons, on peut dire, sans trop se tromper, que la date d'une élection partielle sera bien plus proche de la fin de l'année financière que nous ne le sommes aujourd'hui. Les perturbations que connaîtront le personnel, le financement et les autres arrangements seront probablement moindres vers la fin de l'année financière.

Dans l'attente des résultats de la prochaine élection partielle, et pour toutes les raisons énumérées précédemment, je désigne donc le député d'Edmonton-Norwood comme chef de l'opposition, pour le moment.

Je remercie les députés de l'opposition et leur personnel, ainsi que notre conseiller parlementaire, de l'aide bienveillante qu'ils m'ont apportée à résoudre cette question délicate.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 7 no 4
1984






Dernière mise à jour : 2018-07-31