Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
Parliamentary Book ShelfParliamentary Book Shelf
Yves de Roussan

Pour Un Mode De Scrutin Équitable: La Proportionelle Territoriale, Commission de la représentation électorale, Quebec City, 1984,199 p.

The idea to reform Quebec's electoral system did not come from a particular political party: it has roots in the very history of Quebec's political system. The origins of these reports go back to a resolution of the National Assembly requesting the Commission de la représentation électorale to study the existing electoral system and make recommendations if necessary. The Commission tabled its report on March 28, 1984, entitled Pour un mode de scrutin equitable (For a fair electoral system).

Although not the first report to be written on this issue it may be the one that makes the greatest contribution to a reform of Quebec's electoral system. It does not, however, contain any new or startling views. Since 1982, in fact, the Parti québécois government has been proposing reforms embodying the principles on which the Commission based its recommendations. The government proposed a moderate form of regional proportional representation (RPRM), which provoked widespread protest and was in effect abandoned, leaving the Commission, a neutral body, to take over.

The Commission opted for what it calls "territorial" proportional representation. This formula would make it possible to conserve, to a great extent, the links between voters and MNAs through the creation of 22 large electoral territories based on municipal boundaries or groups of municipalities. At the same time, the proposed plan would introduce proportional representation within these territories.

The Commission proposed two possible electoral maps. Both would maintain the number of seats in the Assembly at just above the existing level (122 seats). The proposed constituencies cover very different surface areas. Under the first hypothesis some of them, like the Saguenay/Lac Saint Jean territory, would return only three Members (the minimum permitted), while others, like Montréal Est, would return as many as 19. The creation of such electoral territories reflects a desire to make MNAs act on a regional basis, to more accurately reflect political reality in Quebec. The Commission considers this major change as one of the key points in its proposal, since it would result in better political representation for Quebecers.

Voters would mark on the ballot their preference for one of the parties. This would determine, on the basis of a predetermined mathematically calculated method of distribution, the number of seats given each of the parties within that territory.

Parties would have to submit a list of candidates for each constituency. There could not be more candidates than the total number of seats allotted to that constituency.

This type of system may involve either a closed or an open list. In most systems the list is closed: that is, voters do not generally have the option of marking the candidates in order of preference. The lists are drawn up in advance according to whatever method is used by each party. A vote for a party implies acceptance of its proposed order of candidates.

To safeguard the existing links between a member and the residents of his/ her riding, the Commission indicated its preference for an open list, a system it describes as "mixed". This means that voters would first have to mark their preferred party and then be given the opportunity to choose their preferred candidates from among all those listed regardless of party.

Changing to a list system (either open or closed) would inevitably transform the role of the parliamentarian in a very radical manner. The closed list or slate means that the order of importance of the candidates has been determined by their party, so that the chances of an individual's being elected depend more on internal party struggles or on the good will of the party executive than on the candidate's roots in his or her riding. There is thus a very real danger of increasing still further the already extensive power of the political parties. The stress currently laid on purely local issues could only diminish.

The open list also raises a number of questions. If voters can choose the candidates they prefer, then the fight for first place in a region would be out in the open and candidates from the same party would be competing with each other as well as with candidates from other parties. Parties would probably present a much less united front during election campaigns.

Furthermore, it should be stressed that individuals who were known throughout the electoral territory would be the most likely to win. With an open list, candidates would have to discard local issues and their role as ombudsmen. To the extent they did so they would be more and more cut off from the needs of their population. Unless, that is, the parties were to divide up each territory among their members, who would then have to "manage" them politically. At this time, however, both hypotheses would require a number of unwarranted assumptions about what political parties would do if this kind of system were adopted.

The perspective that led the Commission to propose its mixed system certainly does it credit. However, let us try and picture hypothetical situation: following instructions from their party at the local 'level, a certain number of Party Xs supporters decide to swing their votes behind a candidate for Party Y, (which would not be especially surprising given the current context of North American electoral behaviour) 'Their votes might well decide the victory or defeat of that particular Party Y candidate, but not necessarily in the way that Party Y's supporters would have liked.

We must also ask how, under a system of proportional representation by territory would electoral campaigns be financed? Would each candidate be reimbursed for electoral expenses, or would the territorial organization be reimbursed? In either event it is virtually certain that election expenses would go up. How would candidates be nominated At immense public meetings, or by order of party executives? Many questions remain unanswered, especially since all parties would have virtually to rewrite their bylaws.

In the solution proposed by the Commission, independent candidates would find themselves second class citizens. Since each independent would be considered to constitute a party, it would be impossible for voters who had indicated other parties as their party preference to include an independent on the list of candidates they wished to have represent them in the National Assembly This would lead to a decrease in the number of votes potentially available for independent candidates.

The Commission also proposed that a seat be reserved for the Inuit, Cree and Naskapi communities of Northern Quebec. Admirable though the thinking behind such an idea may be, we must consider whether the creation of an electoral territory on purely racial grounds would not contravene the Canadian and Quebec charters of human rights. Would the proposal not mean treating native and non native Quebecers differently? And what of the other native communities scattered throughout Quebec? They might very well resent this special treatment for the 6,848 native voters living in Northern Quebec. The idea came from the Northern communities themselves, which is surprising in that their direct participation, with special status, in Quebec's electoral system would mean that their minority position in white society would be enshrined in law.

The Commission's report maintains that the chief merit of territorial representation is that it would decrease significantly the proportional discrepancy between the number of votes cast for a party and the number of seats it actually wins. This is undeniable, at least as regards the two main political parties now represented in the Assembly. Distortions would persist, however. The winning party would in effect still receive a bonus, and outside the major urban centres, parties that obtained less than 15 per cent of the votes would not be represented.

In a constituency like Montréal Est, for example, a party would need to obtain only 5 per cent of the votes cast to win a seat, whereas in most other constituencies a party would have to obtain as much as 33 per cent of the votes cast to win that one seat. But the Commission's proposal was not made thoughtlessly In its report it says explicitly that the larger number of members it would like to see in certain densely populated ridings is due to its wish to allow Quebec's pluralism to find expression by making it easier for new ideas to be represented in the National Assembly, without causing governmental instability.

To manage to stay afloat in a system based on territorial proportionalism, a new or third party would have to concentrate all its support in a single region, probably one characterized by strong cultural, social or linguistic homogeneity, like West Montreal. The Commission failed to propose any means of taking into account, on a province-wide scale, the residual votes garnered by a political party. The result Would be that only regional parties would benefit, to the detriment of parties seeking support throughout Quebec. Proportional representation on a territorial basis thus would not really eliminate the distortions generated by single ballot uninominal balloting; it would only dilute them.

The Commission also opposes the right of MNAs to decide to become independents during the course of their term. It suggests that in such a case the member would have to resign and be automatically replaced by the non elected candidate on his party's constituency list who had received the most votes. The same procedure would be invoked each time a seat came vacant. By-elections would be a thing of the past.

The Commission justifies this due to the need to preserve a certain stability in government. Because party representation would be more accurate, government majorities would be much smaller, and the defection of a handful of members could be enough to bring down the government. Nowhere in the report, however, does the Commission assess the consequences of this change on political and parliamentary life.

On the issue of independents the Commission is not really consistent with its own recommendations. By opting for an open list system it would allow the electorate to choose their representatives themselves, but at the same time it denies members the right to change allegiance, We cannot have it both ways: either the voters simply choose a political party, and MNAs are forbidden to switch sides during their term; or the voters pick from an open list, at which point a vote for an individual candidate is no longer equivalent to a vote for a party, and each MNA is entitled to a large measure of autonomy.

The Commission's proposal with respect to changes of allegiance would also appear to contravene article 43 of the National Assembly Act, which stipulates that "every member is vested with full independence for the carrying out of his duties'. Marcel Adam summed it up when he wrote in La Presse of December 3, 1983, "What good will it do people to be more accurately represented in the National Assembly if the parliamentary system is going to go on being kept in handcuffs by a partisan solidarity whose quasi dictatorial rigidity is virtually unparalleled among parliamentary democracies?"

The parliamentary committee empowered to consider the report of the Commission de la représentation é1ectorale is scheduled to meet during the second week in October and will certainly have to examine all these points. We can only hope that it will succeed in clarifying the debate and answering some of the questions.

Yves de Roussan,  Research Officer for Guy Bisaillon, MNA Quebec National Assembly


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 7 no 3
1984






Last Updated: 2018-07-31

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish
Sur les rayonsSur les rayons
Yves de Roussan

Pour un Mode de scrutin équitable : La proportionnelle territoriale, Commission de la représentation électorale, Québec, 1984, 199 pages.

La Commission de la représentation électorale, en réponse à une résolution unanime de l'Assemblée nationale lui demandant de faire le point sur le mode de scrutin actuel et de proposer, le cas échéant, des recommandations, a déposé, le 28 mars 1984, un rapport intitulé « Pour un mode de scrutin équitable ».

Ce n'est pas là le premier rapport sur ce sujet, mais il s’agit, selon certains observateurs, de celui qui pourrait le plus contribuer à une réforme du système électoral québécois. Il ne renferme cependant pas une analyse originale et inédite. Dès 1982, en effet, le gouvernement du Parti québécois faisait des propositions de réforme contenant certains principes sur lesquels s’est appuyé la Commission lors de l'élaboration de ses propres recommandations. Largement contestée, la représentation proportionnelle régionale modérée (RPIRM) proposée par le gouvernement, fût en effet abandonnée et c'est ainsi que la Commission, organisme neutre, hérita du dossier.

Pour sa part, la Commission a opté pour la représentation proportionnelle territoriale. Cette formule permet, d'une part, de conserver en grande partie les liens entre les électeurs et les députés grâce à la création de 22 territoires électoraux qui respecteraient « les plus anciennes et les plus récentes subdivisions, soit les municipalités et leur regroupement en ensembles plus vastes »; elle introduit, d'autre part, le principe de la proportionnelle au sein de ces territoires.

La Commission a par ailleurs proposé deux hypothèses de découpage électoral en maintenant, dans les deux cas, un nombre de sièges à peine supérieur à celui (122) qui existe actuellement. Les circonscriptions proposées couvrent des superficies très différentes. Selon l'hypothèse 1, certaines d'entre elles ne regrouperaient que 3 députés (nombre minimum permis), tel que le territoire du Saguenay-Lac Saint-Jean; d'autres, comme Montréal Est, atteindraient jusqu'à 19 députés. La création de tels territoires électoraux répond à la volonté de forcer les députés à agir sur une base régionale, plus conforme aux réalités politiques du Québec. La Commission considère d'ailleurs cette transformation majeure comme un point fort de sa proposition, car elle serait mieux adaptée aux besoins de représentation politique des Québécois. En effet, les électeurs indiqueraient sur le bulletin de vote leur préférence pour l'un des partis, ce qui déterminerait, selon un mode de répartition mathématique préétabli, le nombre de sièges accordés à chacun des partis dans chaque territoire.

Les formations politiques devront présenter, dans chacune des circonscriptions, une liste de candidats aux postes de députés, leur nombre ne devant évidemment pas excéder le nombre de sièges disponibles.

Ce type de scrutin de liste offre deux possibilités : l'utilisation d'une liste ouverte ou d'une liste fermée. La plupart des modes de scrutin faisant usage d'une liste ne laissent habituellement pas aux électeurs le choix d'ordonner les candidats selon leur ordre de préférence. La liste est préétablie selon des habitudes propres à chaque parti et un vote pour un parti implique l'acceptation de la liste proposée.

Pour sauvegarder les liens actuels entre le député et la population, la Commission a indiqué sa préférence pour une liste ouverte qu'elle a qualifiée elle-même de « panachée ». Une telle formule implique que l'électeur devrait d'abord voter pour le parti de son choix, puis il aurait le loisir d'effectuer lui-même son choix de candidats, sans se limiter à ceux de la liste du parti pour lequel il a préalablement exprimé sa préférence.

Un scrutin de liste ne peut que transformer fondamentalement le rôle actuel du député, et ce, que les listes soient ouvertes ou fermées. Une liste fermée implique que l'ordre d'importance des députés est déterminé par leur parti respectif, et que les chances d'un individu de se faire élire dépendent donc plus des luttes au sein de chaque parti ou du bon vouloir des dirigeants que de son enracinement dans le milieu. Le risque d'accentuer encore l'omnipuissance des partis politiques est donc très réel.

La liste ouverte soulève également un certain nombre de questions. En effet, si les électeurs peuvent voter selon leurs préférences, la lutte pour la première place dans un territoire se fera au grand jour et la compétition s'engagera également entre candidats du même parti.

Par ailleurs, les individus ayant une certaine notoriété à la grandeur du territoire seront plus susceptibles de percer que les autres. Avec une liste ouverte, les députés délaisseront donc les questions locales et leur rôle d'ombudsman; ils s'en trouveront donc coupés de la population et de ses besoins. À moins, bien entendu, que les partis ne répartissent des portions de territoire entre les députés, qui auraient alors à les gérer, politiquement, mais c'est là présumer beaucoup de réactions de partis face à l'adoption d'une telle liste.

L'optique qui a amené la commission a proposer ce panaché est sans aucun doute tout à son honneur Imaginons cependant le cas où, à la suite d'un moi d'ordre local, un certain nombre de fidèles électeurs d'un parti X décident d'attribuer leurs votes à un candidat du parti Y, ce qui dans le contexte des moeurs électorales nord-américaines ne serait pas particulièrement étonnant. Il est alors fort possible, et même à prévoir, qu'ils pourraient ainsi déterminer la victoire ou la défaite du candidat du parti Y, mais non pas forcément celui que les propres électeurs de ce parti auraient voulu voir battre ou élire.

Dans un autre ordre d'idées, il faut se demander comment, dans le cadre de la proportionnelle territoriale, se ferait le financement des campagnes électorales des candidats? Les remboursements des dépenses électorales seraient-ils versés aux candidats, ou à l'organisation territoriale de chaque parti? Il est de toute façon presque certain que l'on assisterait à une inflation des dépenses électorales. Comment se feraient les nominations des candidats? Par de gigantesques assemblées, ou par décret des exécutifs de parti? Les questions sans réponse on le voit, restent nombreuses; surtout si l'on considère que chaque parti devra refondre la presque totalité de ses statuts internes, sans oublier non plus la rupture du pattern organisationnel liant le Parti libéral du Québec et celui du Canada, rupture qui serait de nature à créer certains problèmes au niveau des structures politiques locales.

Quant à d'éventuels candidats indépendants, la solution retentie par la Commission a pour effet de créer deux poids deux mesures. En effet, puisque chaque indépendant serait considéré comme un parti, il deviendrait impossible pour un citoyen, s’il vote d'abord pour un parti, d'inclure un indépendant dans la liste des députés qu'il désire voir siéger à l'Assemblée nationale. Ce même citoyen pourrait cependant inclure dans sa liste des députés une formation politique différente de celle pour laquelle il a exprimé sa préférence. Cette situation pour le moins curieuse aurait donc pour effet de diminuer les votes potentiels accordés aux candidats indépendants.

En fait, tout cela découle directement du fait que les propositions de la commission ne contiennent aucune comptabilisation nationale des votes résiduels accordés à un parti politique. Ainsi, seuls les partis régionaux seraient avantagés, au détriment des partis nationaux allant chercher des sympathisants dans tout le Québec. La proportionnelle territoriale n'élimine donc pas véritablement les distorsions rencontrées dans le mode de scrutin uninominal à un tour; elle ne fait que les atténuer.

La Commission prend par ailleurs position contre la possibilité qu'ont les députés de devenir indépendants en cours de mandat. Elle suggère, advenant le cas, que le député en question soit forcé de démissionner pour être automatiquement remplacé par le premier candidat non élu du même parti ayant, au sein de ladite circonscription, obtenu le plus grand nombre de voix. La même procédure s’appliquerait chaque fois qu'un siège se trouverait vacant, quelle qu'en soit la raison. Voilà donc qui réglerait le sort de toute élection partielle.

À propos des députés qui deviennent indépendants en cours de mandat, on ne peut s'empêcher de noter que la Commission n'est pas véritablement conséquente avec ses propres recommandations. Elle suggère en effet de laisser à l'électeur le choix de nombreux représentants en favorisant une liste de type ouvert, mais, du même souffle, elle nie aux députés la possibilité de changer d'allégeance en cours de mandat. De deux choses l'une : ou les électeurs ne votent que pour un parti politique, et on interdit alors aux députés de changer d'étiquette en cours de mandat ou on permet à l'électeur d'exercer un libre choix grâce à une liste ouverte, et alors le vote pour le député n'équivaut plus au vote pour le parti et l'on se doit de laisser au député une grande autonomie.

La proposition de la Commission au sujet des changements d'allégeance ne vient-elle d'ailleurs pas à l'encontre de l'article 43 de la Loi sur l'Assemblée nationale du Québec qui stipule « qu'un député jouit d'une entière indépendance dans l'exercice de ses fonctions ? Dans ce contexte, comment ne pas faire écho à Marcel Adam, éditorialiste au journal La Presse, lorsqu'il se demande à quoi servira au peuple d'être mieux représenté à l'Assemblée nationale si notre parlementarisme continue d'être menotté par une solidarité partisane dont la rigidité quasi-dictatoriale est peut-être sans équivalent dans les démocraties parlementaires ». (3 décembre, 1983)

La Commission parlementaire qui doit se réunir dans le courant de la deuxième semaine d'octobre et qui est mandatée pour procéder à l'analyse du rapport de la Commission de la représentation électorale devra sûrement se pencher sur ces nombreux points. Il faut espérer qu'elle saura clarifier le débat et apporter des réponses à certaines de ces questions.

Yves de Roussan
Agent de recherche auprès de M. Guy Bisaillon
Assemblée nationale du Québec


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 7 no 3
1984






Dernière mise à jour : 2018-07-31