Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFrançais

PDF
Speaker's Ruling
Lloyd Francis

The ringing of division bells, Speaker Lloyd Francis, House of Commons March 30, 1984.

Background: In March 1982 an unprecedented situation arose when the division bells were allowed to ring for fifteen days because the Official Opposition Whip refused to appear at the bar of the House in order to express his party's dissatisfaction with an omnibus bill introduced by the government. The Speaker at that time, Jeanne Sauvé refused to intervene and the deadlock was finally resolved by agreement of the parties. Shortly thereafter a special committee was appointed to consider reform of the procedure of the House. The committee made a number of recommendations that were adopted by the House but none of them dealt with the problem of the bells. Since 1982 the problem has arisen again and in the absence of any guidelines certain initiatives have been taken by the chair. Dilatory motions have been declared to have lapsed if not voted on by the hour of automatic adjournment. On other occasions when the question before the House was a substantive one, bells were suspended overnight by the Speaker and continued the following day. The most recent incident occurred on March 19. The following day the Opposition House Leader, Erik Nielsen, raised a point of order protesting the actions of the Speaker in suspending the bells. The Speaker replied to this objection on March 30, 1984.

The Ruling (Speaker Lloyd Francis): The Hon. Member for Yukon (Erik Nielsen) asserted that the Chair exceeded its authority in suspending the sitting and the bells. He said: "The suspending of a sitting overnight in the midst of a division is almost without precedent."

There was, of course, only one such precedent, on May 9. 1983. We now have another resulting from the bell which commenced on March 28. He went on to say that he could find no text or precedent which supported the authority of the Chair to suspend a sitting "at whim". I agree with him. I assure him that the action I took on March 19 was not taken lightly. I looked at precedents. I engaged in consultations. I waited until almost the very last minute in the hope that the representatives of the Parties would notify me of their intentions.

The Hon. Member for Yukon referred to the power of the British Speaker to adjourn or suspend a sitting in circumstances of grave disorder. Let me assure him that the thought of justifying my action in terms of this procedure never entered my head. There was no grave disorder. This practice has no bearing on the situation which faced us. There is nothing in the British practice and precedents which could assist us in resolving any problem related to the bells. This problem is uniquely Canadian. I know of no parliamentary jurisdiction outside Canada where the bells can ring for an unlimited period prior to a recorded vote.

The position taken by the Hon. Member for Yukon was that the timing of a vote rests entirely with the Whips because a division is an expression of the will of the House, not of the Chair. Thus, in his view, even the suspension of the bells overnight is beyond the authority of the Chair. without the consent of the Whips, even though such action cannot affect the length of time the bells may ring nor the outcome of the vote. This is his view and I respect it.

The Hon. President of the Privy Council (Mr. Pinard) while supporting the action of the Chair in suspending the bells, agreed with the Hon. Member for the Yukon that the decision as to the timing of a vote was a matter for the Whips. He pointed out that there are no standing orders to provide any direction as to the Speaker's role where the bells are concerned. Neither is there any jurisprudence except in relation to the lapsing of dilatory motions and the suspension of the bells overnight when a substantive motion is before the House.

The question which arises, therefore, is: how is the Speaker to assist the House without a standing order or a resolution of the House to guide him? How is he to fulfil his duties when he finds himself trapped in a situation whereby, whatever he does, his action will appear to be partisan? With nothing but common sense to guide. him. he can only do what appears to be sensible in the circumstances.

The Hon. Member for Hamilton Mountain (Mr. Deans) made a number of significant comments. He said that at some point the House has to come to grips with the problem that threatens to be a potential disaster for the parliamentary system. He pointed out that the rules of the House are intended to protect each and every Member. And he underlined the embarrassment for the Chair when it finds itself in a situation such as occurred on March 19.

He has my full sympathy in the expression of these views. Let me assure him that the Chair is ever mindful of its duty to protect minorities. However, where voting is concerned, there is little the Chair can do as long as the timing of a recorded vote remains exclusively in the joint control of the Whips of the Government and the Official Opposition. In practice, total control can be exercised by only one of the two, acting on his own, because under our present practice the vote cannot take place unless both Whips approach the Table together. Perhaps, in taking account of the problem, the House or the House Leaders might give some thought to the position and rights of a third party.

Let us consider the implications of allowing the bells to ring indefinitely. When taken to an extreme, the practice can paralyse Parliament completely. We have seen in Manitoba how the Government was forced into proroguing the legislature because an indefinite bell was used by the opposition to prevent a vote on an important government measure. We can imagine a government in a minority situation using the indefinite bell to avoid facing defeat on an issue of confidence We have also seen how the bells can disrupt the arrangements for signifying the Royal Assent to bills. While the House if fully within its rights in ordering its affairs as it sees fit. I suggest that the other place and the representative of His Excellency the Governor General were subjected to a grave discourtesy as a result of what happened on March 28. Do we in this House of Commons really want to enshrine this device permanently in our practice?

It seems to me that the House has three options. The bells can be controlled by the Whips, by the Speaker or by Standing Order. I think the House should consider the pros and cons of all three options. If the Whips have unrestricted control over the bells, we all know what the possibilities are. It means that either the Government Whip or the Official Opposition Whip can exercise an absolute veto over the taking of a vote. Perhaps this suits the purposes of the Government and of the Official Opposition. Is it satisfactory to the House as a whole? Is it acceptable to backbenchers? Is it fair to a third party?

If the Speaker were to control the bells, it could place a very grave responsibility upon him. The advantage to the House would be that the control of the bells would be in the hands of an impartial arbiter. He would. to repeal the words of Mr. Redlich, have regard to the "protection of the majority against obstruction and protection of a minority against oppression". Thus he could be expected to intervene if the bells were used to obstruct a government measure indefinitely. He could also be expected to intervene if the Government were trying to prevent a vote it expected to lose.

The third solution would be to adopt a Standing Order which would place a limit on the length of time the bells may ring and possibly also provide for the scheduling of votes at predetermined time during the week. In this way, all Hon. Members would know in advance the amount of time available to them to reach the House in order to vote. I believe this would be the ideal solution. Only the adoption of a Standing Order could settle this issue once and for all, and I suggest to the House such a Standing Order is sorely needed.

I shall, as has been suggested, be consulting with the three House Leaders with a view to regulating this very important procedural question. For the time being, pending an agreement to change the practice or until I receive other instructions from the House, I shall continue to follow recent precedents. Dilatory motions will be deemed to have lapsed at the ordinary hour of adjournment if not disposed for earlier. In the case of substantive if not disposed of before the ordinary hour of adjournment. the sitting and the bells will be suspended until 9 a.m. on the following sitting day, unless the Chair is notified of a specific intervening hour at which the Whips intend that the vote should take place.

I am not suggesting that either of these practices provides a satisfactory answer to the problem. Without a limit on the bells, we shall continuously be facing a potential procedural dilemma.

The House is master of its own procedure. The authority of the Chair is to rise in the House. In areas of uncertainty, the Chair can only do its best to interpret the will of the House and protect the rights of its Members. Without the support of the House, the Chair is powerless. I think we should learn from recent experience. The problems we face have been exposed. I would like to thank Hon. Members for their contribution to this discussion. It has been instructive for the Chair and 1 hope for all Hon. Members.

Above all, I believe it has been instructive for this great institution which we all cherish. The Chair stands ready to co-operate with the House in any attempt to regulate this difficult and pressing problem. The House should, however. be aware of the Speaker's position. He should not be placed in a situation where he is confronted with conflicting duties.

Until the House comes to grips with this problem, it will remain a constant threat to the efficiency of the House and the security of the Chair. I suggest the credibility of the parliamentary institution is at stake. I believe we have the duty to protect it.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 7 no 2
1984






Last Updated: 2019-07-15

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish
Décision d’un président
Lloyd Francis

Réflexions sur la sonnerie d'appel au vote, Chambre des Communes, 30 mars 1984.

Contexte : En mars 1982, la sonnerie d'appel au vote de la Chambre des communes retentit pendant quinze jours parce que le whip de l'opposition officielle refusa de se présenter devant le Président de la Chambre en signe de protestation contre un projet de loi omnibus déposé par le gouvernement. Le Président de l'époque, Mme Jeanne Sauvé, refusa d'intervenir et les partis réussirent finalement à sortir de l’impasse. Peu après, un comité spécial entreprit d'étudier la procédure de la Chambre en vue de la réformer. Plusieurs de ses recommandations furent adoptées, mais aucune ne portait sur le problème de la sonnerie. Depuis 1982, la situation s’est reproduite plusieurs fois et, en l'absence de lignes directrices, la présidence a pris certaines initiatives. Des motions dilatoires ont été déclarées nulles si elles n'avaient pas fait l'objet d'un vote à l'heure normale d'ajournement. À trois occasions, lorsque la question mise aux voix était une question de fond, la sonnerie a été interrompue pour recommencer le lendemain.

L'incident le plus récent eut lieu le 19 mars 1984. Le lendemain, le leader de l'opposition en Chambre, M. Nielsen, prit la parole pour invoquer un rappel au Règlement. Il contesta le droit du Président de suspendre la séance sans l'approbation de l'opposition. Le 30 mars, le Président Lloyd Francis lui répondit ce qui suit :

Décision du Président (Lloyd Francis) : L'honorable député du Yukon (M. Nielsen) a affirmé que la présidence avait outrepassé ses pouvoirs en suspendant la séance et la sonnerie. Il a alors déclaré : « La suspension d'une séance jusqu'au lendemain au beau milieu d'un vote est presque sans précédent ».

Il n'y a bien sûr qu'un seul précédent de ce genre, soit celui du 9 mai 1983. Nous en avons maintenant un autre à la suite des cloches qui ont commencé à sonner le 28 mars. Il a poursuivi en disant qu'il ne pouvait trouver aucun texte ni précédent appuyant le pouvoir de la présidence de suspendre « unilatéralement » une séance. Je suis d'accord avec lui et je lui assure que ma décision du 19 mars n'a pas été prise à la légère. J'ai étudié les précédents. J'ai tenu des consultations. J'ai en outre attendu presque jusqu'à la dernière minute en espérant que les représentants des partis m'informeraient de leurs intentions.

L'honorable député du Yukon a parlé du pouvoir de la présidence de la Chambre des communes britannique d'ajourner ou de suspendre une séance en cas de grave désordre. Permettez-moi de lui assurer qu'il ne m'est jamais venu à l'esprit d'essayer de justifier ma décision par cette procédure. Il n'y avait pas de désordre grave et cette pratique n'avait aucun lien avec la situation à laquelle nous étions confrontés. Rien dans la pratique et les précédents britanniques ne pourrait nous aider à résoudre un problème posé par les cloches,

Ce problème est unique au Canada et je ne connais aucune autre assemblée parlementaire hors du Canada où les cloches peuvent sonner durant une période illimitée avant un vote par appel nominal.

L'honorable député du Yukon a soutenu que ce sont les whips qui déterminent le moment de la tenue d'un vote parce qu'un vote constitue une expression de la volonté de la Chambre et non de celle de la présidence. C'est pourquoi il estime que même l'interruption de la sonnerie au cours de la nuit outrepasse les pouvoirs de la présidence, même si cette interruption ne peut modifier la durée de la période pendant laquelle les cloches peuvent sonner, ni l'issue du vote. C'est son opinion et je la respecte.

Tout en appuyant la décision de la présidence de suspendre la sonnerie, l'honorable Président du Conseil privé (M. Pinard) a reconnu, tout comme l'honorable député du Yukon (M. Nielsen), que c'est aux whips qu'il incombe de décider du moment de la tenue d'un vote. Il a signalé qu'aucun article du Règlement ne guide la présidence quant à son rôle à l'égard de la sonnerie. Il n'existe pas non plus de jurisprudence à ce sujet, sauf en ce qui concerne l'expiration des motions dilatoires et de la suspension de la sonnerie jusqu'au lendemain lorsque la Chambre est saisie d'une motion de fond.

Les questions qui se posent donc sont les suivantes : Comment la présidence peut-elle aider la Chambre s’il n'existe aucun article du Règlement ni résolution sur lesquels elle puisse se guider? Comment peut-elle s'acquitter de ses fonctions lorsqu'elle se trouve aux prises avec une situation où quoi qu'elle fasse, sa décision semblera partisane? Ne pouvant s’appuyer que sur le bon sens, la présidence ne peut faire que ce qui lui semble sensé dans les circonstances.

L'honorable député de Hamilton Mountain a fait un certain nombre de commentaires importants. Il a déclaré qu'il faudra bien que la Chambre en vienne un jour à s’attaquer à un problème qui pourrait se révéler désastreux pour le régime parlementaire. Il a signalé que le Règlement de la Chambre visait à protéger chaque député. Il a en outre insisté sur l'embarras dans lequel se trouve la présidence devant une situation comme celle du 19 mars.

Je suis entièrement d'accord avec lui. Permettez moi de lui assurer que la présidence a toujours conscience de son devoir de protéger les minorités. En ce qui concerne les votes, cependant, la présidence ne pourra pas faire grand-chose tant que ce seront les whips du gouvernement et de l'opposition officielle qui détermineront conjointement le moment de la tenue d'un vote. En pratique, un seul des deux, agissant de son propre chef, peut exercer le contrôle total parce qu'en vertu de notre pratique actuelle, le vote ne peut avoir lieu à moins que les deux whips ne s’approchent ensemble du Bureau. Compte tenu de ce problème, la Chambre ou les leaders parlementaires à la Chambre pourraient peut-être réfléchir un peu à la position et aux droits d'un tiers parti.

Examinons ce qui se produirait si on laissait sonner les cloches indéfiniment. Poussée à l'extrême, cette pratique pourrait paralyser totalement le Parlement. Nous avons vu comment le gouvernement du Manitoba a été forcé de proroger l'Assemblée législative parce que l'opposition a laissé sonner les cloches indéfiniment afin d'empêcher l'Assemblée de voter sur une importante mesure gouvernementale. Nous pouvons facilement imaginer un gouvernement minoritaire qui laisserait sonner les cloches indéfiniment afin d'éviter d'être battu sur une question de défiance. Nous avons aussi vu comment les cloches peuvent perturber les arrangements pris en vue de donner la sanction royale à des projets de loi. La Chambre a certes tous les droits d'organiser ses affaires comme elle juge bon, mais j'estime que l'on a manqué gravement de courtoisie à l'égard de l'autre endroit et du représentant de Son Excellence le gouverneur général à la suite des incidents du 28 mars. La Chambre des communes veut-elle vraiment ancrer en permanence cette façon de procéder dans sa pratique?

Il me semble que la Chambre a trois choix. Les cloches peuvent être contrôlées par les whips, par la présidence ou par le Règlement. J'estime que la Chambre devrait se pencher sur les avantages et les inconvénients de ces trois options. Si les whips exercent un contrôle illimité sur les cloches, nous savons tous ce qui pourrait se produire. Cela signifierait que le whip du gouvernement ou celui de l'opposition pourrait exercer un veto absolu sur la tenue d'un vote. Cette pratique conviendrait peut être au gouvernement et à l'opposition officielle, mais serait elle satisfaisante pour la Chambre en entier? Serait-elle acceptable pour les simples députés? Serait elle juste pour un tiers parti?

Si la présidence contrôlait les cloches, cela l'obligerait à assumer une très grave responsabilité. Cette solution avantagerait la Chambre, car un arbitre impartial contrôlerait les cloches. Pour reprendre les propos de Redlich, la présidence devrait protéger la majorité contre l'obstruction et protéger la minorité contre l'oppression. On pourrait donc s’attendre à ce que la présidence intervienne si l'on utilisait les cloches pour faire indéfiniment obstruction à une mesure gouvernementale. On pourrait aussi s'attendre à ce qu'elle intervienne si un gouvernement essayait d'empêcher un vote qu'il s'attendrait à perdre.

La troisième solution consisterait à adopter un article du Règlement qui limiterait la durée de la sonnerie ou pourrait prévoir la tenue de votes à des moments prédéterminés au cours de la semaine. Ainsi, tous les députés sauraient d'avance de combien de temps ils disposent pour se rendre à la Chambre. Je crois que cette solution serait idéale. Seule l'adoption d'un article du Règlement pourrait régler cette question une fois pour toutes et permettez-moi de dire à la Chambre qu'elle a grandement besoin d'une telle disposition.

Comme on l'a suggéré, je consulterai les trois leaders parlementaires dans le but de régulariser cette question de procédure très importante. Pour le moment, en attendant que l'on s’entende pour changer la pratique, ou jusqu'à ce que je reçoive d'autres instructions de la Chambre, je continuerai de suivre les précédents établis récemment. Les motions dilatoires seront réputées avoir expiré à l'heure ordinaire d'ajournement si l'on n'en a pas disposé plus tôt. Dans le cas des questions de fond, si la Chambre n'en a pas disposé avant l'heure ordinaire d'ajournement, la séance et la sonnerie seront suspendues jusqu'à 9 heures le matin du jour de séance suivant à moins que la présidence ne soit informée entre-temps d'une heure précise à laquelle les whips ont l'intention de tenir le vote.

Je ne veux pas laisser entendre que l'une ou l'autre de ces solutions réglerait le problème de façon satisfaisante. Si nous ne limitons pas la durée des cloches, nous risquons constamment de nous retrouver dans une impasse.

La Chambre est maîtresse de sa propre procédure. Dans les cas incertains, la présidence ne peut que faire son possible pour interpréter la volonté de la Chambre et protéger les droits des députés. Sans l'appui de la Chambre, la présidence est impuissante. Je crois que nous devrions tirer une leçon de l'expérience récente. Les problèmes auxquels nous faisons face ont été décrits, et j'aimerais remercier les honorables députés de leur contribution à cette discussion. La présidence en a beaucoup appris, tout comme les honorables députés, je l'espère.

Je crois avant tout que ces incidents ont été très instructifs pour cette grande institution que nous chérissons tous. La présidence est prête à collaborer avec la Chambre afin de régler ce problème difficile et pressant. La Chambre ne devrait cependant pas oublier la position de la présidence. Il ne faudrait pas placer celle-ci dans une situation où elle se retrouvera aux prises avec des devoirs contradictoires.

Tant que la Chambre ne s’attaquera pas à ce problème, celui-ci constituera une menace constante pour l'efficacité de la Chambre et la sécurité de la présidence. La crédibilité des institutions parlementaires est en jeu et je crois que nous avons le devoir de la protéger.


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 7 no 2
1984






Dernière mise à jour : 2018-07-31