Canadian Parliamentary Review

Current Issue
Canadian Region CPA
Archives
Upcoming Issue
Editorial and Stylistic Guidelines
Subscribe

Search
HomeContact UsFranšais

PDF
Parliamentary Book ShelfParliamentary Book Shelf
John McDonough

Parliamentary Pay Issues: A Framework for Discussion, by the Commission on Electoral Contributions and Expenses; Toronto, Ontario; Canadian Legislatures: The 1981 Comparative Study, by Robert J. Fleming and J. Thomas Mitchinson, Office of' the Administrator, Ontario Legislative Assembly, Queen's Park.

At hand are two new studies from Ontario for the year 1981. The Commission on Election Contributions and Expenses has produced a modest analytical overview of the basic aspects of pay for members of the Ontario Legislature. The focus of this "framework for discussion" is Ontario but it does present comparable Canadian information although the style of analysis is descriptive not comparative. The study begins with an historical discussion of the 19th century "amateur" politician but quickly proceeds to the role of compensation for the modern "full-time" legislator. The analysis presented in the first two sections of the paper is superficial. In the concluding overview of political recruitment much is made of the contention that Canadian legislators are an elite group "unrepresentative of the Canadian population. This is not news, but the corollary argument that better pay and working conditions will attract "non-elite" citizens to enter the electoral arena deserves to be tested in light of the modern advances in both the pay and services provided to Canadian legislators.

The third section which examines "The Issues" of parliamentary pay is more useful. It delineates the major questions for consideration, such as: the difficulty of comparing the pay of legislators to other groups or professions in society; indexing schemes which would protect legislators while seeming to give them a perverse interest in inflation; the expense allowance and accountability; the appropriateness of extra compensation for committee work; deductions for non attendance and severance allowances, and other matters.

The paper by the Commission on Electoral Contributions and Expenses suffers from a variety of methodological problems. The 1979 data reproduced from the March 1980 edition of this journal is out of date. The circular graphs outlining the variations in occupational status and education are remarkably confusing. The employment case history of one cabinet minister is interesting but not typical and hardly rates a sophisticated graph. Interviews with retired Ontario legislators give the practioner's point of view but are of limited utility. The study acknowledges that the perspectives presented reflect the concerns of twenty years ago. The lack of information concerning the number of legislators interviewed, the method of their selection and other pertinent facts renders the use of statistics from the interviews of dubious value. On the whole this work adds little to what is already known on the subject of parliamentary pay. Its redeeming feature is the consolidation of the major issues involved in developing a rationale for parliamentary remuneration.

The other study is by the Administrator of the Legislative Assembly of Ontario. Mr. Fleming first initiated a comparative study of the salaries, benefits and administrative structures of provincial and territorial legislatures in 1979; it was updated in 1980. The 1981 study is a revised and expanded version of the original project which, for the first time, includes administrative arrangements of the House of Commons. This is a most welcome addition as the Commons provides a benchmark for comparison. Also, many of the innovative procedures such as constituency offices and legislative research services were first introduced into the Canadian scene by Parliament. The Canadian Senate is not included in this study but should be lest some readers jump to the erroneous conclusion that the administration of the House of Commons and the Senate is one and the same. There are many similarities but each House is master of its own administration.

The Fleming-Mitchinson study is more comprehensive than the one produced by the Ontario Commission on Election Contributions and Expenses. The framework has been expanded to include a vast array of "nuts and bolts" information about the operation of Canadian legislatures. There are no methodological gimmics; the editors insist that their study is not "an academic or empirical evaluation" and they refrain from "any attempt to make value judgements". The data on indemnities, allowances, salaries, benefits and support services is presented in clear tables and charts. The profile of elected members is comprehensive although unfortunately its source, the Parliamentary Guide is not completely reliable. The most significant new developments in this apparently ongoing project are the description of administrative features of Canadian legislatures and miscellaneous data which the editors describe as "House Statistics".

The study is coherently organized into five separate compartments, but it would help to include a table of contents. Each section begins with an assessment of the raw data, which allows for an overview of the facts as well as background information. It is useful to know what administrative arrangements are in place, and how each jurisdiction evaluates and responds to the needs of its legislators. It would be even more enlightening to know how effective the various arrangements are; and what are their consequences, intended and otherwise. In this respect the "value-free" approach of the editors is restrictive. Each jurisdiction has a complex package of arrangements. The method of presentation in this study makes it difficult to achieve a holistic view of each package and how it compares with the packages of other jurisdictions. For example in comparing the expense allowances in each jurisdiction on an across the board basis the remuneration of federal Members of Parliament looks especially generous. However, when one considers that some provinces give generous housing allowances and extra pay for committee work, which is not the case in Ottawa, then the federal scale assumes a different perspective.

The 1981 Comparative Study is a most informative document. The editors should be encouraged to continue their annual efforts and to press further their examinations of the administrative aspects of Canadian legislatures. There appear to be fewer factual errors than in previous editions but too many unfortunate mistakes still exist. It is to be hoped that others will heed the editors' plea for more comparative research directed at legislatures. Cross national comparisons with the British House of Commons and American State Legislatures would be of particular interest. Indeed their conclusion that "Canadian legislators at the provincial level are now, on the whole, more highly paid and have better facilities at their disposal than their U. S. counterparts is a revelation that begs for further examination.

In concluding I should like to direct some general comments at the large number of salary studies that seem to be produced each year. At the federal level there was the Hales report in 1979, the McIssac-Balcer Report in 1980. The Pay Research Bureau does an annual study as does the Canadian Region of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association. There are also a myriad of published and unpublished reports prepared by various provincial assemblies or committees. Many studies do little more than rework familiar ground.

One reason for the growing number of studies is the need to be up-to-date. Although the general administrative arrangements are relatively constant, salaries and benefits are revised by most governments on an annual basis. For some, these changes are initiated in January and revised later as the annual "indexing" figures become available; in other jurisdictions the changes are made at the beginning or the end of the spring legislative session. Special events such as elections, may cause further revisions. The year 1981 was notable for the controversies surrounding the extensive changes of pay and benefits for Members of Parliament and the Ontario legislature. These arrangements were not completed until July 1981. July through September are probably the most suitable months to take a snapshot of pay arrangements as the data and analysis can be made available by December before the next round of major changes, The Pay Research Bureau's policy of waiting till the end of December before compiling that year's data means that their work is out of date before it is published.

More serious than timing is the fact that numerous researchers are tripping over each other in their efforts to independently collect basic salary and benefit data. The telephone, as the primary instrument of collection, is the source of several difficulties. Both the above studies offer data which appears to have simply been transcribed incorrectly. Other difficulties involve finding the most appropriate questions to ask. Another problem relates to format. For example, in the Fleming study the basic indemnity for a Saskatchewan legislator is given as $16,804; combining the indemnity of $10,980 with the unique Saskatchewan sessional allowance of $5,896. The Ontario Commission gives the correct indemnity figure but ignores the sessional allowance altogether. These differences in format may be justified by each author, unfortunately the reader is left with contradictory information.

In an effort to improve the reliability of salary information, I suggest that it be collected on a continuing basis by a repository that would in turn make it available to any interested researcher. This would require convincing some institution, for example: the Pay Research Bureau, the Canadian Region of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association or a provincial Director of Administration to act as the collection agent. The Administrative Officers of each province would be asked to Out together, on an annual basis, the major salary and benefit changes for that year in addition to sending notification to the cc lector of any minor changes as they occur see no hope for making a significant cut in the number of researchers interested in pay matters, but some centralization of information would provide researchers with better information with less aggravation for the administrators.

John McDonough

Director, Legislative Research Service

Legislature Library

Edmonton, Alberta


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 5 no 2
1982






Last Updated: 2019-07-15

Revue parlementaire canadienne

Numéro courant
Région canadienne, APC
Archives
Prochain numéro
Guide de rédaction
Abonnez-vous

Recherche
AccueilContactez-nousEnglish
Sur les rayonsSur les rayons
John McDonough

Parliamentary Pay Issues: A Framework for Discussion. Étude de la Commission ontarienne des contributions et des dépenses électorales, Toronto, Ontario; et Canadian Legislatures: The 1981 Comparative Study de Robert J. Fleming et J. Thomas Mitchinson. Bureau de l'administration, Assemblée législative de l'Ontario, Toronto.

Voici deux nouvelles études ontariennes parues en 1981. La Commission des contributions et des dépenses électorales a effectué une analyse sommaire des principaux aspects du problème du traitement des députés de l’Assemblée législative de l’Ontario. Ce cadre de discussion porte surtout sur l’Ontario, mais il comporte aussi des renseignements relatifs au reste du Canada, bien que, par son style, ce document soit une analyse plutôt qu’une étude comparative. Après un bref historique de la situation de l'homme politique « amateur » au XIXe siècle, les auteurs examinent le rôle de la rémunération du député moderne à « plein temps ». L'analyse des deux premières sections de ce document est assez superficielle. Dans la dernière section, qui traite du recrutement politique, il est surtout question du caractère prétendument élitiste des députés canadiens qui formeraient un groupe « non représentatif » de la population canadienne.Il n'y a là rien de bien nouveau, mais il serait intéressant de prouver l’argument contraire, à savoir que des citoyens ne faisant pas partie d'une classe « privilégiée » seraient sans doute intéressés à se lancer dans l’arène politique si les députés étaient mieux payés et avaient de meilleures conditions de travail compte tenu justement des rajustements de salaire récents et de l'amélioration des services offerts aux députés.

La troisième partie de cette étude est consacrée aux problèmes du traitement des parlementaires, son contenu est plus utile. On y distingue bien les grandes questions à étudier : la difficulté de comparer les traitements des députés et des sénateurs à ceux d'autres professions dans la société; les formules d'indexation des traitements des députés qui, tout en protégeant leur rémunération, pourraient donner à penser qu'ils s'intéressent indûment à l'inflation; les indemnités accordées aux députés et les comptes qu'ils doivent rendre à leur sujet; la question de savoir s'ils devraient recevoir une rémunération supplémentaire pour leur travail en comité, les déductions frappant la non-participation, les indemnités de départ, etc.

Cette étude de la Commission des contributions et des dépenses électorales présente quelques défauts d’ordre méthodologique. Les données pour 1979, tirées du numéro de mars 1980 de la présente revue, sont périmées. Les schémas circulaires qui illustrent la diversité des professions et les différences de formation sont d’une confusion remarquable. Le récit de la succession des emplois d’un ministre, aussi intéressant qu’il soit, n'est pas typique et il ne mérite guère un schéma compliqué. Les entrevues menées auprès des députés ontariens à la retraite illustrent bien le point de vue d'hommes de métier, mais ne sont que d'une utilité marginale. Les auteurs reconnaissent eux-mêmes que les opinions présentées traduisent les préoccupations d'il y a vingt ans. L'absence de renseignements concernant le nombre des députés interrogés ou la façon dont ils ont été choisis et le manque d’autres faits importants font douter des statistiques tirées de ces entrevues. Dans l’ensemble, cette étude n'apporte pas grand-chose de neuf sur le sujet des traitements des parlementaires. Le seul avantage qu'on puisse lui reconnaître est d’avoir rassemblé les grands problèmes que pose l’élaboration d’un système logique de rémunération des parlementaires.

L’autre étude publiée par le directeur de l’Administration de l’Assemblee législative de l’Ontario, M. Robert Flemming, fut à l'origine une étude comparative des traitements et avantages des députés ainsi que des structures administratives des assemblées législatives provinciales et territoriales. Cette étude effectuée en 1979 fut mise à jour en 1980. La version de 1981 est une édition revue et augmentée du projet original qui inclut pour la première fois un expose des arrangements administratifs de la Chambre des communes. Cet ajout est certes bienvenu puisque les Communes servent souvent de point de comparaison. En effet, un certain nombre de mesures nouvelles, telles que les bureaux de circonscription et les services ce recherche législatifs, furent tout d'abord instaurées par le Parlement canadien. Le Sénat du Canada n’est pas compris dans cette étude. Il aurait dû l'être pour éviter que certains lecteurs ne croient pas que la Chambre des communes et le Sénat ont une administration commune. Il existe de nombreux points de ressemblance entre ces deux chambres, mais chacune a son administration propre.

Cette étude est cependant plus complète que celle de la Commission ontarienne mentionnée ci-dessus. Le plan original a été modifié de manière à inclure tout un trousseau de renseignements clés sur le fonctionnement des assemblées législatives canadiennes. On n’y trouve pas de trucs méthodologiques; les auteurs insistent sur le fait que leur travail n’est pas une évaluation scientifique ou empirique où ils s’abstiennent de porter un jugement de valeur. Les tableaux et diagrammes qui présentent les données sur les indemnités, allocations, traitements, avantages et services de soutien sont clairs. L'image donnée de nos députés est assez complète, bien que le Guide parlementaire ne soit pas une source absolument fiable. Les principales nouveautés de cette étude qui, semble-t-il, se poursuit, sont l’analyse des caractéristiques administratives des assemblées législatives canadiennes et les données sur les assemblées législatives que les auteurs appellent « statistiques des Chambres ».

L'étude, bien charpentée, comprend cinq sections, mais on regrette l'absence d’une table des matières. Au début de chacune des sections, les auteurs évaluent les données brutes, ce qui leur permet de faire le tour de la situation et de fournir des renseignements complémentaires. Il est utile de savoir quels types d’arrangements administratifs ont été adoptés et comment chaque assemblée évalue les besoins de ses députés et y répond. Il aurait été encore plus révélateur de connaître le degré d'efficacité de ces divers arrangements, ainsi que leurs répercussions, prévues ou non. À cet égard, la décision des auteurs de ne porter aucun jugement de valeur constitue une limite. Chaque assemblée a un ensemble complexe d'arrangements administratifs; la méthode de présentation des données permet difficilement de se faire une idée de chacun de ces ensembles et de la façon dont ils se comparent entre eux. Si l’on compare par exemple les indemnités de dépenses des députés pour chacune des assemblées législatives, les députés fédéraux semblent recevoir une rémunération particulièrement généreuse. Mais si on tient compte du fait que certaines provinces donnent de généreuses indemnités de domicile et de participation au travail des comités, ce que ne fait pas Ottawa, les indemnités fédérales ne paraissent plus si généreuses.

Le document The 1981 Comparative Study est une mine de renseignements. On ne saurait qu’encourager les auteurs à procéder à des révisions annuelles et à approfondir leur analyse des dimensions administratives des assemblées législatives canadiennes. La présente édition semble comporter moins d’erreurs de fait que les éditions antérieures, bien qu’on en relève encore malheureusement trop. Il est à souhaiter que d’autres entendent l’appel des auteurs en faveur d’un plus grand nombre d’études comparatives sur les assemblées législatives, notamment de comparaisons entre les institutions canadiennes et la Chambre des communes britannique ainsi que les assemblées législatives des États américains. Les auteurs affirment en conclusion que les députés des assemblées législatives provinciales du Canada sont dans l’ensemble mieux payés et disposent de meilleurs services que leurs homologues américains. Cette affirmation mériterait d'être scrutée de plus près.

J'aimerais à présent faire quelques commentaires sur le grand nombre d'études effectuées chaque année sur les salaires. Au niveau fédéral, on a eu le rapport Hales en 1979 et le rapport McIsaac-Balcer en 1980. Le bureau de recherches sur les traitements publie une étude annuelle, ainsi que la Région canadienne de l'Association parlementaire du Commonwealth. Il existe en outre une foule de rapports, publiés et inédits, préparés à la demande des diverses assemblées provinciales ou de leurs comités. Bon nombre de ces études ne font que reprendre ce qui est déjà connu.

Le nombre croissant des études traitant de cette question s’explique en partie par le désir d'être à jour. Bien que les arrangements administratifs généraux soient relativement constants, la plupart des gouvernements révisent annuellement les traitements et les avantages des députés. Certains le font en janvier, quitte à faire un rajustement au moment où les chiffres d'indexation sont connus. D'autres le font au début ou à la fin de la session législative du printemps. Des événements exceptionnels, comme des élections, peuvent entraîner de nouveaux rajustements. L’année 1981 a été remarquable à cet égard en raison des controverses auxquelles ont donné lieu les importantes hausses de traitements et d’avantages des députés du Parlement et de l’Assemblee législative de l’Ontario. Ces arrangements m'ont été conclus définitivement qu’en juillet 1981. Le meilleur moment pour faire le bilan de ces arrangements semble donc être de juillet à septembre, les données et analyses pouvant être publiées en décembre, c’est-à-dire juste avant la ronde suivante de rajustements Le Bureau de recherche sur les traitements, qui attend par principe jusqu’à la fin de décembre avant de compiler les données pour l’année en cours, s’expose à publier des résultats qui sont périmés avant même de paraître.

Mais il y a un problème plus sérieux; les nombreux chercheurs se marchent en quelque sorte réciproquement sur les pieds en essayant de recueillir chacun de leur côté des données de base sur les traitements et les avantages. Le principal outil de cette collecte est le téléphone, lui-même source de nombreuses difficultés. Prenons l'exemple des deux études mentionnées ci-dessus. Elles font état de données qui semblent avoir été transcrites incorrectement. Une autre difficulté consiste à trouver l'administrateur qui se donnera la peine d'expliquer au chercheur les moindres détails de son régime de rémunération. Le chercheur peut grandement faciliter les choses s'il sait quelles questions poser. Il y a aussi le problème de la présentation des données. Par exemple, I’étude Fleming indique que l'indemnité de base d’un député de la Saskatchewan est de 16 804 $; il s'agit en fait d'une indemnité de 10 980 $, augmentée d'une allocation sessionnelle de 5 896 $, unique à la Saskatchewan. La Commission ontarienne donne le chiffre exact de l'indemnité en ne tenant absolument aucun compte de l'allocation sessionnelle. Ces divergences se justifient peut-être pour chacun des auteurs, mais le lecteur se trouve malheureusement en présence de renseignements contradictoires.

Pour rendre plus sûrs les renseignements en matière de traitement, je propose qu’on demande à une personne attitrée d'en faire régulièrement la collecte et de les mettre à la disposition des chercheurs intéressés. Il faudrait pour ce faire arriver à convaincre certaines institutions, notamment le Bureau de recherche sur les traitements, la Région canadienne de l'Association parlementaire du Commonwealth ou l'administrateur d'une assemblée provinciale, de jouer le rôle d'agent collecteur. Celui-ci demanderait aux agents administratifs de chaque province de dresser un bilan annuel des principales modifications intervenues en matière de traitements et d'avantages, et de le tenir informé des modifications moins importantes à mesure qu’elles ont lieu. Il est inutile d’espérer, à mon avis, une diminution du nombre de chercheurs dans ce domaine, mais une certaine centralisation des données permettrait d'obtenir des renseignements plus exacts et serait un sujet d'exaspération de moins pour les administrateurs.

John McDonough
Directeur, Service de recherche, Bibliothèque de l’Assemblée législative
Edmonton (Alberta)


Canadian Parliamentary Review Cover
Vol 5 no 2
1982






Dernière mise à jour : 2018-07-31