The Canadian Region

New NWT Speaker

On October 24, Mackenzie Delta MLA **Frederick Blake Jr.** was acclaimed as Speaker of the Northwest Territories' Legislative Assembly.

Speaker Blake said he planned to promote the value of NWT's consensus style of government by aiming to travel more to smaller communities and particularly by focusing on visiting youth in schools.

"Everyone has a voice in this legislature," Speaker Blake said in an interview with local media. "It's not like parties where you have to toe the line." He contended that a non-partisan system gives members a better position from which to represent community interests and that he hoped to support this system as Speaker.

Mr. Blake vowed that his door would always be open and that he would work to support the Assembly's members any way he could.

First elected in 2011, prior to serving as an MLA, Speaker Blake was the Chief and Mayor of Tsiigehtchic from 2007-2011. He also served as the President of the Gwich'ya Gwich'in Council in Tsiigehtchic, on the Board of Directors for the Gwich'in Tribal Council, and on the Board of Directors for the Gwich'in Development Corporation and the Gwich'in Settlement Corporation.

New Newfoundland and Labrador Speaker

On November 2, St. George's-Humber MHA **Scott Reid** was elected Speaker of the Newfoundland and Labrador Assembly in a secret ballot victory over former Speaker **Perry Trimper**, who was attempting to regain the position after stepping down from cabinet.

Mr. Reid, who had previously vied for the role in 2016, told reporters "it is a great honour to be in this position."

Raised in Jeffrey's on Newfoundland's West Coast, Mr. Reid earned degrees at Memorial University of Newfoundland (MUN), before receiving his PhD at



Frederick Blake Jr.



Scott Reid

the University of Ottawa. He worked as a researcher in the Government Members' Office in 1989, before advancing to senior positions in government including director of communications and director of research. He also worked for the federal government and taught courses at MUN in the Department of Political Science and the Faculty of Business.

First elected in a 2014 by-election, Mr. Reid was reelected in 2015 and 2019.

Lewisporte-Twillingate MHA Derek Bennett was named deputy speaker in a motion put forward by Premier **Dwight Ball**.

New House of Commons Speaker

Nipissing-Timiskaming Liberal MP Anthony Rota was elected the 37th Speaker of the House of Commons on December 5, 2019. He was selected after achieving majority support in the Commons on a preferential ballot that also included incumbent Speaker Geoff Regan, and MPs Joël Godin, Bruce Stanton, and Carol Hughes.

Noting he is the first MP of Italian descent to hold the position, Speaker Rota told MPs: "I'm here to serve you and make sure that everything runs well for all of us, so that we can conduct the business of Parliament and make sure that it works well. My promise is to be fair... to be nonpartisan, and to do my best in this House, at your service."

First elected in 2004, Speaker Rota noted he had experienced three minority parliaments as an MP and vowed to be available to all his colleagues. He also intends to regularly invite small groups of MPs to



Anthony Rota

meet to better get to know each other and promised to install a suggestion box to encourage members to submit ideas to improve the House of Commons.

Prior to his time in Parliament Speaker Rota served as a North Bay city councillor. After being defeated in the 2011 election, he became a sessional lecturer in Nipissing University's political science department and served as Director of Governmental Relations.

Regional Executive Committee, CPA*

PRESIDENT Kevin Murphy, Nova Scotia

FIRST VICE-PRESIDENT Ted Arnott, Ontario

SECOND VICE-PRESIDENT Vacant, Québec

PAST PRESIDENT Yasmin Ratansi, Federal Branch

REGIONAL REPRESENTATIVES

Alexandra Mendès, Federal Branch Vacant, Québec Kevin Murphy, Nova Scotia

CHAIR OF THE CWP, CANADIAN SECTION (Commonwealth Women Parliamentarians) Laura Ross, Saskatchewan

EXECUTIVE SECRETARY-TREASURER Michel Patrice, House of Commons

Members of the Regional Council*

HOUSE OF COMMONS Anthony Rota, Speaker Charles Robert, Clerk

ALBERTA

Nathan Cooper, Speaker Shannon Dean, Secretary

BRITISH COLUMBIA Darryl Plecas, Speaker Kate Ryan-Lloyd, Secretary (Acting)

CANADIAN FEDERAL BRANCH Yasmin Ratansi, Chair Rémi Bourgault, Secretary

MANITOBA Myrna Driedger, Speaker Patricia Chaychuk, Secretary

NEW BRUNSWICK Daniel Guitard, Speaker Donald Forestell, Secretary

NEWFOUNDLAND AND LABRADOR Scott Reid, Speaker Sandra Barnes, Secretary

> NUNAVUT Simeon Mikkungwak, Speaker John Quirke, Secretary

Vacant, Clerk

George Furey, Speaker

SENATE

NOVA SCOTIA Kevin Murphy, Speaker Neil Ferguson, Secretary

ONTARIO

Ted Arnott, Speaker Todd Decker, Secretary

PRINCE EDWARD ISLAND Colin LaVie, Speaker Joey Jeffrey, Secretary

QUÉBEC

François Paradis, Speaker Simon Bérubé, Secretary

> SASKATCHEWAN Mark Docherty, Speaker Gregory Putz, Secretary

NORTHWEST TERRITORIES Frederick Blake Jr., Speaker Tim Mercer, Secretary

YUKON Nils Clarke, Speaker Dan Cable, Secretary

*As of December 30, 2019

Canadian Region Commonwealth Parliamentary Association

Alberta

Office of the Clerk 3rd Floor, 9820-107 Street Edmonton, Alberta T5K 1E7 780 427-2478 (tel) 780 427-5688 (fax) clerk@assembly.ab.ca

British Columbia

Office of the Clerk Parliament Buildings Room 221 Victoria, BC V8V 1X4 250 387-3785 (tel) 250 387-0942 (fax) ClerkHouse@leg.bc.ca

Federal Branch

Executive Secretary 131 Queen Street, 5th Floor House of Commons Ottawa, ON K1A 0A6 613 992-2093 (tel) 613 995-0212 (fax) cpa@parl.gc.ca

Manitoba

Office of the Clerk Legislative Building Room 237 Winnipeg, MB R3C 0V8 204 945-3636 (tel) 204 948-2507 (fax) patricia.chaychuk@leg.gov.mb.ca

New Brunswick

Office of the Clerk Legislative Building P.O. Box 6000 Fredericton, NB E3B 5H1 506 453-2506 (tel) 506 453-7154 (fax) don.forestell@gnb.ca

Newfoundland & Labrador

Office of the Clerk Confederation Building P.O. Box 8700 St John's, NL A1B 4J6 709 729-3405 (tel) 709 729-4820 (fax) sbarnes@gov.nl.ca

Northwest Territories

Office of the Clerk P.O. Box 1320 Yellowknife, NT X1A 2L9 867 669-2299 (tel) 867 873-0432 (fax) tim_mercer@gov.nt.ca



Nova Scotia Office of the Clerk Province House P.O. Box 1617 Halifax, NS B3J 2Y3 902 424-5707 (tel) 902 424-0526 (fax) fergusnr@gov.ns.ca

Nunavut Office of the Clerk Legislative Assembly of Nunavut P.O. Box 1200 Iqaluit, NU X0A 0H0 867 975-5100 (tel) 867 975-5190 (fax)

Ontario

Office of the Clerk Room 104, Legislative Bldg. Toronto, ON M7A 1A2 416 325-7341 (tel) 416 325-7344 (fax) clerks-office@ola.org

Prince Edward Island

Office of the Clerk Province House P.O. Box 2000 Charlottetown, PE C1A 7N8 902 368-5970 (tel) 902 368-5175 (fax) jajeffrey@assembly.pe.ca

Québec

Direction des relations interparlementaires Assemblée nationale Québec, QC G1A 1A3 418 643-7391 (tel) 418 643-1865 (fax) simonb@assnat.gc.ca

Saskatchewan

Office of the Clerk Legislative Building Room 239 Regina, SK S4S 0B3 306 787-2377 (tel) 306 787-0408 (fax) cpa@legassembly.sk.ca

Yukon

Office of the Clerk Legislative Building P.O. Box 2703 Whitehorse, YT Y1A 2C6 867 667-5494 (tel) 867 393-6280 (fax) clerk@gov.yk.ca