The Canadian Scene

Passing of Nunavut Speaker Joe Enook

The Honourable **Joe Enook**, Speaker of the Legislative Assembly of Nunavut, passed away on March 29, 2019, following a short illness.

In announcing the passing, Deputy Speaker Simeon Mikkungwak stated that:

"My colleagues and I take comfort in knowing that his beloved wife, Mary, was with him at the end. Speaker Enook served his constituents with passion, and represented our institution with dignity. Our thoughts are with Joe's family and the entire community of Pond Inlet."

Nunavut Premier Joe Savikataaq publicly stated that:

"On behalf of the Government of Nunavut, I extend our sincere condolences to Joe's family and constituents. I had the honour of serving with Joe for a number of years and can attest to his commitment and dedication to the well-being of our territory."

Flags were half-masted at the Legislative Assembly Precinct in honour of the passing of Speaker Enook, and a book of condolences was hosted in the main foyer.

The Legislative Assembly and its Members appreciate the many expressions of sympathy that have been received from across the nation.

Joe Enook was re-elected in the general election held on October 30, 2017, to represent the constituency of Tununiq in the 5th Legislative Assembly of Nunavut.

Mr. Enook was acclaimed as Speaker during the November 17, 2017, proceedings of the Nunavut Leadership Forum. Mr. Enook formally took the Chair on November 21, 2017, at the commencement of the first sitting of the 5th Legislative Assembly of Nunavut.



Hon. Joe Enook

Mr. Enook previously served in the 3rd and 4th Legislative Assemblies. Mr. Enook served as the Deputy Speaker and Chairperson of the Committee of the Whole during the 4th Legislative Assembly.

Prior to his election to the Legislative Assembly, Mr. Enook served as the Nunasi Corporation's Vice-President of Nunavut Operations from 2000-2011. Mr. Enook previously worked as the Executive Assistant to the President of Nunavut Tunngavik Incorporated from 1994-2000. He has also held positions in the travel and tourism sector of the economy. Mr. Enook was a former Chairperson of the Baffin Divisional Board of Education and a member of the Pond Inlet Education Council.

New Clerks in Three Assemblies

Three jurisdictions in the Canadian Region have (or shortly will have) new Clerks.

On November 28, 2018, **Joey Jeffrey**'s appointment as the new Clerk of Prince Edward Island's Legislative Assembly was announced in the House. Mr. Jeffrey replaced **Charles MacKay** upon his retirement on March 31.

Mr. Jeffrey, who has spent the last six years as director of corporate services for the Legislative Assembly, called the Clerk's position his dream job. "I have nothing but the utmost respect for this place, and to be able to take this position on at the legislature in Prince Edward Island is a huge privilege," he told reporters.

On February 14, Alberta Speaker **Robert E. Wanner**, announced **Merwan Saher** had been appointed to serve as the 8th Clerk of the Legislative Assembly of Alberta. Mr. Saher replaces **Robert H. Reynolds**.

Noting his four decades of public service, including an eight-year term as the Auditor General of Alberta, Speaker Wanner stated that Mr. Saher has a history and record of constructive leadership and a commitment to the public service. Mr. Saher received a Lifetime Achievement Award from the Chartered Professional Accountants of Alberta in May 2018.

On March 4, Yukon Speaker **Nils Clarke** announced that the Members' Services Board of the Yukon Legislative Assembly had selected **Dan Cable** to become Clerk of the Yukon Legislative Assembly effective May 4, 2019. Mr. Cable will replace **Floyd McCormick** upon his retirement.

Mr. Cable worked at Yukon's Department of Justice for the past 17 years, including 13 years as Director of Policy and Communications. During his time in Justice, Mr. Cable led legislative and communications initiatives for the Correctional Redevelopment and the Land Titles Modernization projects.

Regional Executive Committee, CPA*

PRESIDENT

Yasmin Ratansi, Federal Branch

FIRST VICE-PRESIDENT

Kevin Murphy, Nova Scotia

SECOND VICE-PRESIDENT

Ted Arnott, Ontario

PAST PRESIDENT

Myrna Driedger, Manitoba

REGIONAL REPRESENTATIVES

Alexandra Mendès, Federal Branch Jackson Lafferty, Northwest Territories Kevin Murphy, Nova Scotia

CHAIR OF THE CWP, CANADIAN SECTION

(Commonwealth Women Parliamentarians) Laura Ross, Saskatchewan

EXECUTIVE SECRETARY-TREASURER

Michel Patrice, House of Commons

Members of the Regional Council*

HOUSE OF COMMONS

Geoff Regan, Speaker Charles Robert, Clerk

ALBERTA

Robert E. Wanner, Speaker Merwan Saher, Secretary

BRITISH COLUMBIA

Darryl Plecas , Speaker Kate Ryan-Lloyd, Secretary (Acting)

CANADIAN FEDERAL BRANCH

Yasmin Ratansi, Chair Rémi Bourgault, Secretary

Myrna Driedger, Speaker Patricia Chaychuk, Secretary

MANITOBA

NEW BRUNSWICKDaniel Guitard , Speaker

Donald Forestell, Secretary

NEWFOUNDLAND AND LABRADOR

Perry Trimper, Speaker Sandra Barnes, Secretary

NUNAVUT

Simeon Mikkungwak, Speaker (Acting) John Quirke, Secretary

SENATE

George Furey, Speaker Vacant, Clerk

NOVA SCOTIA

Kevin Murphy, Speaker Neil Ferguson, Secretary

ONTARIO

Ted Arnott, Speaker Todd Decker, Secretary

PRINCE EDWARD ISLAND

Francis Watts, Speaker Joey Jeffrey, Secretary

OUÉBEC

François Paradis, Speaker Simon Bérubé, Secretary

SASKATCHEWAN

Mark Docherty, Speaker Gregory Putz, Secretary

NORTHWEST TERRITORIES

Jackson Lafferty, Speaker Tim Mercer, Secretary

YUKON

Nils Clarke, Speaker Floyd McCormick, Secretary



Canadian Region Commonwealth Parliamentary Association

Alberta

Office of the Clerk 3rd Floor, 9820-107 Street Edmonton, Alberta T5K 1E7 780 427-2478 (tel) 780 427-5688 (fax) clerk@assembly.ab.ca

British Columbia

Office of the Clerk Parliament Buildings Room 221 Victoria, BC V8V 1X4 250 387-3785 (tel) 250 387-0942 (fax) ClerkHouse@leg.bc.ca

Federal Branch

Executive Secretary
131 Queen Street, 5th Floor
House of Commons
Ottawa, ON K1A 0A6
613 992-2093 (tel)
613 995-0212 (fax)
cpa@parl.gc.ca

Manitoba

Office of the Clerk
Legislative Building
Room 237
Winnipeg, MB R3C 0V8
204 945-3636 (tel)
204 948-2507 (fax)
patricia.chaychuk@leg.gov.mb.ca

New Brunswick

Office of the Clerk Legislative Building P.O. Box 6000 Fredericton, NB E3B 5H1 506 453-2506 (tel) 506 453-7154 (fax) don.forestell@gnb.ca

Newfoundland & Labrador

Office of the Clerk Confederation Building P.O. Box 8700 St John's, NL A1B 4J6 709 729-3405 (tel) 709 729-4820 (fax) sbarnes@gov.nl.ca

Northwest Territories

Office of the Clerk P.O. Box 1320 Yellowknife, NT X1A 2L9 867 669-2299 (tel) 867 873-0432 (fax) tim_mercer@gov.nt.ca



Nova Scotia

Office of the Clerk Province House P.O. Box 1617 Halifax, NS B3J 2Y3 902 424-5707 (tel) 902 424-0526 (fax) fergusnr@gov.ns.ca

Nunavut

Office of the Clerk Legislative Assembly of Nunavut P.O. Box 1200 Iqaluit, NU X0A 0H0 867 975-5100 (tel) 867 975-5190 (fax)

Ontario

Office of the Clerk Room 104, Legislative Bldg. Toronto, ON M7A 1A2 416 325-7341 (tel) 416 325-7344 (fax) clerks-office@ola.org

Prince Edward Island

Office of the Clerk
Province House
P.O. Box 2000
Charlottetown, PE C1A 7N8
902 368-5970 (tel)
902 368-5175 (fax)
jajeffrey@assembly.pe.ca

Ouébec

Direction des relations interparlementaires Assemblée nationale Québec, QC G1A 1A3 418 643-7391 (tel) 418 643-1865 (fax) simonb@assnat.qc.ca

Saskatchewan

Office of the Clerk Legislative Building Room 239 Regina, SK S4S 0B3 306 787-2377 (tel) 306 787-0408 (fax) cpa@legassembly.sk.ca

Yukon

Office of the Clerk Legislative Building P.O. Box 2703 Whitehorse, YT Y1A 2C6 867 667-5494 (tel) 867 393-6280 (fax) clerk@gov.yk.ca