The Canadian Scene

New Speaker of the New Brunswick Legislative Assembly

On October 23, during the first session of the 59th legislative assembly of New Brunswick, Restigouche-Chaleur MLA Daniel Guitard was elected Speaker. He will preside over the province's first minority government in a century.

"The population of New Brunswick has asked us to work together," he said. "I'll try to do my best to make it work in the house."

First elected as a Liberal MLA on September 22, 2014, he was named deputy government whip and later appointed chair of the government caucus. Speaker Guitard has also served as vice-chair of the standing committee on economic policy and the standing committee on private bills and as a member several other standing committees.



Prior to entering politics, he worked with the federal Department and **Employment** Immigration owned a business specializing in the sale and servicing recreational of products. also worked as a planner financial with the National Bank.

Active in his community, Speaker Guitard has served as the chair of various festivals, team manager for a minor hockey and baseball team, a municipal councillor, and the chair of Atlas Park.

"The role of Speaker is critical to the operation of this legislature and to ensuring we can all work collaboratively and productively for the people who elected us," Speaker Guitard said. "I am honoured to have been chosen and promise to do my best to impartially serve the legislative assembly and all New Brunswickers."

New Quebec Speaker

Lévis MNA François Paradis was elected as the new President (Speaker) of Quebec's National Assembly on November 27, 2018. He was unopposed for the position.

"I want to lead this presidency by focusing on communication and transparency," he said "I would like to bring Quebeckers closer to the National

Assembly and discover a modern, efficient and innovative democracy. May our institution project a more positive image of the people who work there."

Speaker Paradis thanked his colleagues for giving him the opportunity to preside over the Assembly and vowed to earn their confidence.



Speaker Paradis said Quebecers are demanding more transparency and ever more rigorous management of their democratic institutions.

Prior to first winning election for the Coalition Avenir du Quebec in 2014, Speaker Paradis worked as a radio and television journalist and presenter for Télé 4, Radio-Canada and TVA among others. He hosted Café show, L'enfer ou le Paradis, Première ligne and TVA en direct.com.

Speaker Paradis has a Bachelor's degree in political science and journalism from Laval University. During his first term in the National Assembly he held a variety of critic portfolios for the Second Opposition Group.

Regional Executive Committee, CPA*

PRESIDENT

Yasmin Ratansi, Federal Branch

FIRST VICE-PRESIDENT

Kevin Murphy, Nova Scotia

SECOND VICE-PRESIDENT

Ted Arnott, Ontario

PAST PRESIDENT

Myrna Driedger, Manitoba

REGIONAL REPRESENTATIVES

Alexandra Mendès, Federal Branch Jackson Lafferty, Northwest Territories Kevin Murphy, Nova Scotia

CHAIR OF THE CWP, CANADIAN SECTION

(Commonwealth Women Parliamentarians) Laura Ross, Saskatchewan

EXECUTIVE SECRETARY-TREASURER

Michel Patrice, House of Commons

Members of the Regional Council*

HOUSE OF COMMONS

Geoff Regan, Speaker Charles Robert, Clerk

ALBERTA

Robert Wanner, Speaker Robert Reynolds, Secretary

BRITISH COLUMBIA

Darryl Plecas , Speaker Craig James, Secretary

CANADIAN FEDERAL BRANCH

Yasmin Ratansi, Chair Rémi Bourgault, Secretary

MANITOBA

Myrna Driedger, Speaker Patricia Chaychuk, Secretary NEW BRUNSWICK

Daniel Guitard, Speaker

Donald Forestell, Secretary

NEWFOUNDLAND AND LABRADOR

Perry Trimper, Speaker Sandra Barnes, Secretary

NUNAVUT

Joe Enook, Speaker John Quirke, Secretary

SENATE

George Furey, Speaker Vacant, Clerk

NOVA SCOTIA

Kevin Murphy, Speaker Neil Ferguson, Secretary

ONTARIO

Ted Arnott, Speaker Todd Decker, Secretary

PRINCE EDWARD ISLAND

Francis Watts, Speaker Charles MacKay, Secretary

OUÉBEC

François Paradis, Speaker Simon Bérubé, Secretary

SASKATCHEWAN

Mark Docherty, Speaker Gregory Putz, Secretary

NORTHWEST TERRITORIES

Jackson Lafferty, Speaker Tim Mercer, Secretary

YUKON

Nils Clarke, Speaker Floyd McCormick, Secretary



Canadian Region Commonwealth Parliamentary Association

Alberta

Office of the Clerk 3rd Floor, 9820-107 Street Edmonton, Alberta T5K 1E7 780 427-2478 (tel) 780 427-5688 (fax) clerk@assembly.ab.ca

British Columbia

Office of the Clerk Parliament Buildings Room 221 Victoria, BC V8V 1X4 250 387-3785 (tel) 250 387-0942 (fax) ClerkHouse@leg.bc.ca

Federal Branch

Executive Secretary
131 Queen Street, 5th Floor
House of Commons
Ottawa, ON K1A 0A6
613 992-2093 (tel)
613 995-0212 (fax)
cpa@parl.gc.ca

Manitoba

Office of the Clerk
Legislative Building
Room 237
Winnipeg, MB R3C 0V8
204 945-3636 (tel)
204 948-2507 (fax)
patricia.chaychuk@leg.gov.mb.ca

New Brunswick

Office of the Clerk Legislative Building P.O. Box 6000 Fredericton, NB E3B 5H1 506 453-2506 (tel) 506 453-7154 (fax) don.forestell@gnb.ca

Newfoundland & Labrador

Office of the Clerk Confederation Building P.O. Box 8700 St John's, NL A1B 4J6 709 729-3405 (tel) 709 729-4820 (fax) sbarnes@gov.nl.ca

Northwest Territories

Office of the Clerk P.O. Box 1320 Yellowknife, NT X1A 2L9 867 669-2299 (tel) 867 873-0432 (fax) tim_mercer@gov.nt.ca



Nova Scotia

Office of the Clerk Province House P.O. Box 1617 Halifax, NS B3J 2Y3 902 424-5707 (tel) 902 424-0526 (fax) fergusnr@gov.ns.ca

Nunavut

Office of the Clerk Legislative Assembly of Nunavut P.O. Box 1200 Iqaluit, NU X0A 0H0 867 975-5100 (tel) 867 975-5190 (fax)

Ontario

Office of the Clerk Room 104, Legislative Bldg. Toronto, ON M7A 1A2 416 325-7341 (tel) 416 325-7344 (fax) clerks-office@ola.org

Prince Edward Island

Office of the Clerk
Province House
P.O. Box 2000
Charlottetown, PE C1A 7N8
902 368-5970 (tel)
902 368-5175 (fax)
chmackay@assembly.pe.ca

Québec

Direction des relations interparlementaires Assemblée nationale Québec, QC G1A 1A3 418 643-7391 (tel) 418 643-1865 (fax) simonb@assnat.qc.ca

Saskatchewan

Office of the Clerk Legislative Building Room 239 Regina, SK S4S 0B3 306 787-2377 (tel) 306 787-0408 (fax) cpa@legassembly.sk.ca

Yukon

Office of the Clerk Legislative Building P.O. Box 2703 Whitehorse, YT Y1A 2C6 867 667-5494 (tel) 867 393-6280 (fax) clerk@gov.yk.ca