The Canadian Scene



New Saskatchewan Speaker

After two rounds of voting, on May 17, the 28th Session of the Legislative Assembly of Saskatchewan elected Saskatoon Eastview MLA Corey Tochor, as its new Speaker. Tochor defeated incumbent Dan D'Autremont who had held the role since 2011 and Gregory Brkich, MLA for Arm River.

As deputy chair of committees, Tochor had worked closely with D'Autrement, asking many questions about procedural issues. "That kind of sparked my interest in becoming speaker," he said. Although considering the former Speaker a mentor, Tochor said: "I am going to be a different Speaker. I'm going to take each issue as they rise. I come from probably a different space as a Speaker."

Born and raised in Esterhazy, Saskatchewan, Tochor owned and operated Health Conveyance Inc., a communications company that provides electronic messaging in health facilities across the province prior to his election as an MLA in the 2011 provincial election.



New Manitoba Speaker

On May 16, Manitoba's MLAs elected **Myrna Driedger** as the new Speaker of the Assembly. Driedger succeeds former Speaker **Daryl Reid** who opted not to run in the most recent provincial election.

"I wish to thank the members for the high honour the House has conferred on me," she said to the Assembly upon her election. "I leave the floor of this House to take the Speaker's Chair. I leave behind all political and partisan feelings, and I intend to carry out the important duties of the Speaker of the Legislative Assembly with impartiality and to the best of my ability."

Born in Benito, Manitoba, prior to her election as a Progressive Conservative MLA for the riding of Charleswood in 1998 by-election, Driedger enjoyed a career as a registered nurse and served as President and Executive Director of Child Find Manitoba.

Driedger has also held several roles in the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association, including a three-year term as Chair of the Canadian Region of Commonwealth Women Parliamentarians beginning in 2011, and vice-chair of CWP International.

Regional Executive Committee, CPA*

PRESIDENT

Linda Reid, British Columbia

FIRST VICE-PRESIDENT

Tom Osborne, Newfoundland and Labrador

SECOND VICE-PRESIDENT

Yasmin Ratansi, Federal Branch

PAST PRESIDENT

Chris Collins, New Brunswick

REGIONAL REPRESENTATIVES

Alexandra Mendes , Federal Branch David Laxton, Yukon

Tom Osborne, Newfoundland and Labrador

CHAIR OF THE CWP, CANADIAN SECTION

(Commonwealth Women Parliamentarians) Linda Reid, British Columbia

EXECUTIVE SECRETARY-TREASURER

Blair Armitage

Members of the Regional Council*

HOUSE OF COMMONS

Geoff Regan, Speaker Marc Bosc, Clerk (Acting)

ALBERTA

Robert Wanner, Speaker Robert H. Reynolds, Secretary

BRITISH COLUMBIA

Linda Reid, Speaker Craig James, Secretary

CANADIAN FEDERAL BRANCH

Yasmin Ratansi, Chair Elizabeth Kingston, Secretary

MANITOBA

Myrna Driedger, Speaker Patricia Chaychuk, Secretary

NEW BRUNSWICK

Chris Collins, Speaker

Donald Forestell, Secretary

Tom Osborne, Speaker Sandra Barnes, Secretary

NEWFOUNDLAND AND LABRADOR

NUNAVUT

George Qulaut, Speaker John Quirke, Secretary

SENATE

George Furey, Speaker Charles Robert, Clerk

NOVA SCOTIA

Kevin Murphy, Speaker Neil Ferguson, Secretary

ONTARIO

Dave Levac, Speaker Deborah Deller, Secretary

PRINCE EDWARD ISLAND

Francis Watts, Speaker Charles MacKay, Secretary

OUÉBEC

Jacques Chagnon, Speaker Émilie Bevan, Secretary

SASKATCHEWAN

Corey Tochor, Speaker Gregory Putz, Secretary

NORTHWEST TERRITORIES

Jackson Lafferty, Speaker Tim Mercer, Secretary

YUKON

David Laxton, Speaker Floyd McCormick, Secretary



Canadian Region Commonwealth Parliamentary Association

Alberta

Office of the Clerk 3rd Floor, 9820-107 Street Edmonton, Alberta T5K 1E7 780 427-2478 (tel) 780 427-5688 (fax)

British Columbia

Office of the Clerk Parliament Buildings Room 221 Victoria, BC V8V 1X4 250 387-3785 (tel) 250 387-0942 (fax) ClerkHouse@leg.bc.ca

Federal Branch

Executive Secretary
131 Queen Street, 5th Floor
House of Commons
Ottawa, ON K1A 0A6
613 993-0330 (tel)
613 995-0212 (fax)
cpa@parl.gc.ca

Manitoba

Office of the Clerk
Legislative Building
Room 237
Winnipeg, MB R3C 0V8
204 945-3636 (tel)
204 948-2507 (fax)
patricia.chaychuk@leg.gov.mb.ca

New Brunswick

Office of the Clerk Legislative Building P.O. Box 6000 Fredericton, NB E3B 5H1 506 453-2506 (tel) 506 453-7154 (fax) don.forestell@gnb.ca

Newfoundland & Labrador

Office of the Clerk Confederation Building P.O. Box 8700 St John's, NL A1B 4J6 709 729-3405 (tel) 707 729-4820 (fax) sbarnes@gov.nl.ca

Northwest Territories

Office of the Clerk P.O. Box 1320 Yellowknife, NT X1A 2L9 867 669-2299 (tel) 867 873-0432 (fax) tim_mercer@gov.nt.ca



Nova Scotia

Office of the Clerk Province House P.O. Box 1617 Halifax, NS B3J 2Y3 902 424-5707 (tel) 902 424-0526 (fax) fergusnr@gov.ns.ca

Nunavut

Office of the Clerk Legislative Assembly of Nunavut P.O. Box 1200 Iqaluit, NU X0A 0H0 867 975-5100 (tel) 867 975-5190 (fax)

Ontario

Office of the Clerk Room 104, Legislative Bldg. Toronto, ON M7A 1A2 416 325-7341 (tel) 416 325-7344 (fax) clerks-office@ontla.ola.org

Prince Edward Island

Office of the Clerk Province House P.O. Box 2000 Charlottetown, PE C1A 7N8 902 368-5970 (tel) 902 368-5175 (fax) chmackay@assembly.pe.ca

Ouébec

Direction des relations interparlementaires Assemblée nationale Québec, QC G1A 1A3 418 643-7391 (tel) 418 643-1865 (fax) EBevan@assnat.qc.ca

Saskatchewan

Office of the Clerk Legislative Building Room 239 Regina, SK S4S 0B3 306 787-2377 (tel) 306 787-0408 (fax) cpa@legassembly.sk.ca

Yukon

Office of the Clerk Legislative Building P.O. Box 2703 Whitehorse, YT Y1A 2C6 867 667-5494 (tel) 867 393-6280 (fax) clerk@gov.yk.ca