The Canadian Scene

Passing of Speaker Pierre Claude Nolin

The CPA-CR is very sad to report that Senate Speaker Pierre Claude Nolin passed away on April 23, 2015 after a five-year long battle with a rare form of cancer. Named to the Senate in 1993 by Prime Minister Brian Mulroney, who remembered Speaker Nolin as a man with "great personal integrity" who served Canada "with dignity and honour at all times," Nolin had been appointed Speaker of the Senate by Governor General David Johnston on the advice of Prime Minister Stephen Harper on November 26, 2014. He had served as Speaker *pro tempore* for a year previously.

"Thanks to his courage and patriotism, this affable and cultured man was able to exercise his talents as a unifying and enlightened guide to his colleagues up to the end lot of his life, in spite of a cruel illness," Prime Minister Harper said.



Pierre Claude Nolin

Senator James Cowan, Leader of the Opposition in the Senate called Speaker Nolin "a great parliamentarian who had a deep understanding of, and respect for, our Canadian parliamentary democracy. His appointment as Speaker was universally applauded and during his too-short term of office he had taken positive steps towards improving the operations of our institution."



Leo Housakos

New Senate Speaker

Prime Minister Stephen Harper appointed Quebec Conservative Senator Leo Housakos as the 44th Speaker of the upper chamber on May 4, 2015. He had been serving as Speaker *pro tempore* since December 2014.

Appointed to the Senate in 2008 by Prime Minister Harper, he has served in numerous roles on a variety of Senate standing committees and currently chairs the Standing Committee on Internal Economy, Budgets and Administration.

Housakos has pledged to continue to work of Speaker Nolin and his predecessor, Noël Kinsella, on modernizing the institution.

"To me, the Speaker of the Senate acts as a barometer of consensus," Housakos said, speaking to his colleagues in the Chamber. "I will take my cue from Speaker Nolin and undertake to work with each of you in order to modernize the Senate, where openness and transparency are essential to carrying out our parliamentary duties for the good of all Canadians."

Regional Executive Committee, CPA*

PRESIDENT

Chris Collins, New Brunswick

FIRST VICE-PRESIDENT

Linda Reid, British Columbia

SECOND VICE-PRESIDENT

Wade Verge, Newfoundland and Labrador

PAST PRESIDENT

Robert Wanner, Alberta

REGIONAL REPRESENTATIVES

Russ Hiebert, Federal Branch

David Laxton, Yukon

Wade Verge, Newfoundland and Labrador

CHAIR OF THE CWP, CANADIAN SECTION

(Commonwealth Women Parliamentarians)

Linda Reid, British Columbia

EXECUTIVE SECRETARY-TREASURER

Blair Armitage

Members of the Regional Council*

HOUSE OF COMMONS

Andrew Scheer, Speaker Audrey O'Brien, Clerk

AIRFRTA

Robert Wanner, Speaker David McNeil, Secretary

BRITISH COLUMBIA

Linda Reid, Speaker Craig James, Secretary

CANADIAN FEDERAL BRANCH Joe Preston, Chair

Elizabeth Kingston, Secretary

MANITOBA

Daryl Reid, Speaker Patricia Chaychuk, Secretary

NEW BRUNSWICK

Chris Collins, Speaker

Donald Forestell, Secretary

Wade Verge, Speaker Sandra Barnes, Secretary

NUNAVUT

George Qulaut, Speaker John Quirke, Secretary

NEWFOUNDLAND AND LABRADOR

SENATE

Leo Housakos, Speaker Charles Robert, Clerk

NOVA SCOTIA

Kevin Murphy, Speaker Neil Ferguson, Secretary

ONTARIO

Dave Levac, Speaker Deborah Deller, Secretary

PRINCE EDWARD ISLAND

Francis Watts, Speaker Charles MacKay, Secretary

OUÉBEC

Jacques Chagnon, Speaker Émilie Bevan, Secretary

SASKATCHEWAN

Dan D'Autremont, Speaker Gregory Putz, Secretary

NORTHWEST TERRITORIES

Jackie Jacobson, Speaker Tim Mercer, Secretary

YUKON

David Laxton, Speaker Floyd McCormick, Secretary





Francis (Buck) Watts

New Prince Edward Island Speaker

For the first time in 18 years Prince Edward Island's Legislature had a contested Speaker's election. Following two ballots, Liberal MLA Francis (Buck) Watts, assumed the Speaker's chair, replacing Carolyn Bertram who did not seek re-election to the Assembly.

First elected to the legislature in 2007, Speaker Watts has been a member of the Standing Committee on Agriculture, Environment, Energy and Forestry and the Standing Committee on Fisheries, Transportation and Rural Development. He also served as Vice Chair of the Standing Committee on Public Accounts.

"Conscious as I am of my comparative inexperience in parliamentary procedure, I would have hesitated in accepting a position involving so much responsibility were it not for the fact that I know I shall be, at all times, to rely with confidence upon the courtesy, forbearance and kindness of every member of the assembly," Watts said.



Robert Wanner

New Alberta Speaker

NDP MLA Robert Wanner of Medicine Hat was elected Speaker of Alberta's legislative assembly at the start of the 29th session of the legislature. Wanner replaced former MLA Gene Zwozdesky.

Newly elected in 2015, Wanner is a small-business owner who holds a bachelor of arts degree from the University of Saskatchewan, a master's degree in social policy at McMaster University and an MBA from the University of Calgary.

Wanner told his fellow MLAs: "The building that we are in now, in all its splendour, is simply a symbol of what well-intentioned people can do when they decide to work together to make a better world. We must find new ways to set aside our positions and focus on our collective interests."

Canadian Region Commonwealth Parliamentary Association

Alberta

Office of the Clerk Legislative Building 801 Legislature Annex Edmonton, AB T5K 1E4 780 427-2478 (tel) 780 427-5688 (fax) david.mcneil@assembly.ab.ca

British Columbia

Office of the Clerk Parliament Buildings Room 221 Victoria, BC V8V 1X4 250 387-3785 (tel) 250 387-0942 (fax) ClerkHouse@leg.bc.ca

Federal Branch

Executive Secretary
131 Queen Street, 5th Floor
House of Commons
Ottawa, ON K1A 0A6
613 993-0330 (tel)
613 995-0212 (fax)
cpa@parl.gc.ca

Manitoba

Office of the Clerk
Legislative Building
Room 237
Winnipeg, MB R3C 0V8
204 945-3636 (tel)
204 948-2507 (fax)
patricia.chaychuk@leg.gov.mb.ca

New Brunswick

Office of the Clerk Legislative Building P.O. Box 6000 Fredericton, NB E3B 5H1 506 453-2506 (tel) 506 453-7154 (fax) don.forestell@gnb.ca

Newfoundland & Labrador

Office of the Clerk Confederation Building P.O. Box 8700 St John's, NL A1B 4J6 709 729-3405 (tel) 707 729-4820 (fax) sbarnes@gov.nl.ca

Northwest Territories

Office of the Clerk P.O. Box 1320 Yellowknife, NT X1A 2L9 867 669-2299 (tel) 867 873-0432 (fax) tim_mercer@gov.nt.ca



Nova Scotia

Office of the Clerk Province House P.O. Box 1617 Halifax, NS B3J 2Y3 902 424-5707 (tel) 902 424-0526 (fax) fergusnr@gov.ns.ca

Nunavut

Office of the Clerk Legislative Assembly of Nunavut P.O. Box 1200 Iqaluit, NU X0A 0H0 867 975-5100 (tel) 867 975-5190 (fax)

Ontario

Office of the Clerk Room 104, Legislative Bldg. Toronto, ON M7A 1A2 416 325-7341 (tel) 416 325-7344 (fax) clerks-office@ontla.ola.org

Prince Edward Island

Office of the Clerk
Province House
P.O. Box 2000
Charlottetown, PE C1A 7N8
902 368-5970 (tel)
902 368-5175 (fax)
chmackay@assembly.pe.ca

Québec

Direction des relations interparlementaires Assemblée nationale Québec, QC G1A 1A3 418 643-7391 (tel) 418 643-1865 (fax) EBevan@assnat.qc.ca

Saskatchewan

Office of the Clerk Legislative Building Room 239 Regina, SK S4S 0B3 306 787-2377 (tel) 306 787-0408 (fax) cpa@legassembly.sk.ca

Yukon

Office of the Clerk Legislative Building P.O. Box 2703 Whitehorse, YT Y1A 2C6 867 667-5494 (tel) 867 393-6280 (fax) clerk@gov.yk.ca